Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi 1st of all thx 4 letting me in to this forum.im frm Sri lanka a tiny island in the indian ocean.im currently a undergrad majoring in IT in a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help on installing usb flash drives in red hat linux 9

hi

1st of all thx 4 letting me in to this forum.im frm Sri lanka a tiny island in the indian ocean.im currently a undergrad majoring in IT in a uni over here. and we are using linux to do programming in c++. but im new to linux and i dant have any root access to the machine. but im wondering whether there is any possibility of installing a usb flash drive so i can download stuff to my usb 4 future reference.

thx

You might want to read this tutorial: http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-26510.html, but since you hvae no root access, you most likly will have to ask the System Administartion to set up the computers so that you can use the mount command to mount the flash drive, to mount the command will be simmilar to
    Code:
    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbflash
    I hope this helps a bit;

dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Just Joined!

thx

well i tried it but when i tried to creat the folder usbflash i didnt give permission to do so.so i guess i should ask the administrator.

but thankz any ways.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

Re: thx

Quote Originally Posted by nirVaan
    well i tried it but when i tried to creat the folder usbflash i didnt give permission to do so.so i guess i should ask the administrator.

but thankz any ways.
    you could just make the folder in you /home directory
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

Just Joined!
    i had the same probelm, and someone from the forums helped me out. i am copying and pasting the procedure and the commands below. it worked for me, should work for you too.