Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
can someone help me? Im using ifconfig command and bash is tell not a recoginze command. Im using Redhat 9.0....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    177

    Command to show my IP configurations


    can someone help me? Im using ifconfig command and bash is tell not a recoginze command. Im using Redhat 9.0.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    You have to be root

    Code:
    su -
    <password>
    ifconfig
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    177
    Ive tried that and get the same error

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Log into the box as root

    click the Hat in the corner scroll up to log-out
    then you will go into a shell type logout again
    then you will be prompted for a login.
    Login as root and then type ifconfig
    (make sure your not typing ipconfig which is a M$ thing)
    Let me know if its not clear
    Mike
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline
    You have to be root

    Code:
    su -
    <password>
    ifconfig
    No, you don't. Just run it with the absolute path.

    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig
    or
    /usr/sbin/ifconfig
    This is because a normal user (non-root) doesn't have /sbin and /usr/sbin in his/her $PATH by default.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    177
    thanks Ill try that.

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    112

    ifconfig

    another interesting thing that I'd like to add is that to restart your network interface you type:

    ifup eth0

    or

    ifdown eth0 - to bringdown.

    instead of rebooting the entire system.

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    137

    tell me

    plz guyz tell me how i can manually change my ip address in suse linux version thnx
    :: i dont know even a single word of linux ::

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Athens, GA
    Posts
    56
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 123.123.123.123
    should work on any Linux distribution, though you may have to adjust the path as sarumont pointed out above, if you're not root.

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    192
    if u don't know how to do something, ask "man".

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •