Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Howdy. Can anyone telll me where i'm going wrong with this. I've completely updated my RH9, installed TCL and then installed aMSN. I've got this icon on my desk top ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    52

    Fed up with aMSN.


    Howdy. Can anyone telll me where i'm going wrong with this. I've completely updated my RH9, installed TCL and then installed aMSN. I've got this icon on my desk top but it is dormant. Any ideas anyone???

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    123

    Partial Answer + Question

    Delete the icon
    To start AMSN open a terminal window and type amsn , I don't know how to create an icon yet so can someone tell me that?[/b] By the way it takes a few seconds, and also if you close the termanal window, the amsn window closes aswell, anyone know how to change this?

    Another option is to use GAIM messanger, it is installed by defult with FC3 normal installation. To open, open a termanal window and type gaim , this opens gaim and you can then close the termanal window without closing the program.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    52
    Okay. Will try that. I did have the icon working once but it wouldn't authenticate me. But don't ask me how. It was something i did whilst trrying to install some dependencies. A bit of a fluke.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    129
    To create a link to an application, in KDE, Right click the desktop on some open area. Click Create New --> Link to an Application. It should open a tabbed panel to fill in. On teh General tab, type over Link to Application with what ever you want to call the new link. You will see a gear icon. If you click that, you can select the icon you want. Most distros supply some. There are thousands available from the web. The Permissions tab will control who can execute the application. Check the boxes as appropriate. On the Execute tab, this is where you specify the script, or binary you want to execute. Note you can browse... to the application. If you do, click on teh executable, it will fill in the command line. There is a tab for specifying file types for this application to work with.

    Click OK, you are done. You should now have the new icon on your desktop.

    Hope this gets you going.

    Or, look here and here.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    123

    Cheers

    Thanks m8, that worked 4 me. In Gnome I found it to be right click ->create launcher.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    52
    Well i've typed amsn in the run dialogue thing and it just says application unknown.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    52
    And in the terminal window too and it says command not found.

  8. #8
    Linux User gassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    292
    maybe you dont have amsn installed if it says command not found
    If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane--Jimmy Buffett


    Registered Linux user # 376962

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826

    Re: Partial Answer + Question

    Yeah, it sounds like yo don't have it installed. And
    Quote Originally Posted by alancooney
    also if you close the termanal window, the amsn window closes aswell, anyone know how to change this?
    use the "&" as follows
    Code:
    amsn&

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    123

    Another Soulution

    It could also be that you don't have libtk installled. Run the rpm again and see if it detects any missing packages.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •