Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
total newbie question....how can i tell which desktop environment i am using? i'm pretty sure it's gnome, but want to make sure. thanks....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    8

    newb question...desktop environment


    total newbie question....how can i tell which desktop environment i am using? i'm pretty sure it's gnome, but want to make sure. thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    KDE, the "open main menu button" much like the start button, is a K in a cog wheel and large overall size and possibly the KDE logo. Gnome the start menu is a foot or the redhat "redhat" and a smaller menu size and smaller apperence. XFCE also has mice. Hope this helps.
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    8
    yeah, i got the little redhat up there...gotta be gnome. thanks a lot!

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    no problem
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    I thought the red hat was used on both KDE and Gnome on Redhat and Fedora systems, unless you changed the theme. Chances are you have Gnome because it's the default, but the way to check would be to click the red hat and then click "Help" or something like that. Then it would tell you desktop environment and other info.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Your SQL Server
    Posts
    95
    yeah, in FC3 redhat is defualt for both, also kde dosn't have a top bar by defualt. so i assume he is running gnome

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Windsor, CO
    Posts
    656
    Well, Gnome 2.8 anyways.
    Gnome 2.6 and older had just a large bottom bar, much like KDE does.
    And of course, that's all only if you kept the defaults.
    Emotions are the key to the soul.
    Registered Linux User #375050

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •