Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Hi seanb, - What gateway router brand are you using? - Can you do the following and post them: # route -n # iptables -L # cat /etc/resolv.conf # ping ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    123

    What To do


    Hi seanb,
    - What gateway router brand are you using?
    - Can you do the following and post them:
    # route -n
    # iptables -L
    # cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # ping <ip address of redhat box>
    # ping <ip address of gateway router>
    He meens open a terminal window (in Gnome this is right click->terminal window), and then type those things in one by one, not including the hash signs, and post the output for each one here. The model of Gateway router would also be useful.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    106

    Re: What To do

    Quote Originally Posted by alancooney
    Hi seanb,
    - What gateway router brand are you using?
    - Can you do the following and post them:
    # route -n
    # iptables -L
    # cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # ping <ip address of redhat box>
    # ping <ip address of gateway router>
    He meens open a terminal window (in Gnome this is right click->terminal window), and then type those things in one by one, not including the hash signs, and post the output for each one here. The model of Gateway router would also be useful.
    # route -n

    Kernal IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255 U 0 0 0 etho0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 etho0
    0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 etho0

    # iptables -L

    is there anything specific you need here? if you need it all let me know because its going to take a while to type it all, its a Looong response.

    cat/ect/resolve.config for this i got no such file or directory


    sorry, i dont know what to do, i typed all that info spaced out correctly and in line with the proper colums but when i submit it all gets jammed together.

    Maybe i will just smash my Fedora machine that will solve the problem!

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    106
    by the way, whenever i try to log out, shutdown or reboot- the desktop sort of locks up, after i select an action, nothing happens 50% of the time. i end up using control-alt-backspace to get out of the desktop, is that bad? am i hurting anything?

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22

    Re: try this scrypt

    Quote Originally Posted by pibe76
    with your gedit ,vim or emas do the following hope this will help. on the following:
    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 , then edit:
    check_link_down () {
    return 1;
    }
    also check this on following lines edit the same.
    /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-eth0
    /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/ifcfg-eth0
    if they ever happen to exist, hope this will help.
    remember on the instalation set up eth[n] to get thru DHCP .
    good luck man
    Hi!

    what do you mean? What exactly I should do?
    'remember on the instalation set up eth[n] to get thru DHCP .'

    Could you please comment on this ..why the following is useful
    check_link_down () {
    return 1;
    }

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22

    Re: Internet connection

    Quote Originally Posted by kihbord
    Hi seanb,
    - What gateway router brand are you using?
    - Can you do the following and post them:
    # route -n
    # iptables -L
    # cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # ping <ip address of redhat box>
    # ping <ip address of gateway router>
    I don't understand why I can not connect to the Internet
    although the NIC driver is install and eth0 is active

    here what I have:

    [root@localhost root]# route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
    [root@localhost root]# iptables -L
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination
    [root@localhost root]# cat /etc/resolv.conf
    search localdomain
    nameserver 127.0.0.1

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    106
    any other ideas guys? my g/f is going to kill me if i keep unplugging her computer to get online

  7. #17
    tfk
    tfk is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    de
    Posts
    103
    This solves many router problems.

    --LC
    it\'s !Linux; it\'s GNU/Linux!
    [XBill] [GNU] [Viewable with Any Browser] [Drop me a mail]

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22

    Re: try this scrypt

    Quote Originally Posted by pibe76
    with your gedit ,vim or emas do the following hope this will help. on the following:
    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 , then edit:
    check_link_down () {
    return 1;
    }
    also check this on following lines edit the same.
    /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-eth0
    /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/ifcfg-eth0
    if they ever happen to exist, hope this will help.
    remember on the instalation set up eth[n] to get thru DHCP .
    good luck man
    thanks.. I know now about this Linux bug
    I added that 3 lines to the end of the files
    but this did not help

  9. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    106
    i just found a network tool that was not installed, which is now. i was able to ping another computer(on the same network,actually the mac i am typing from) and all pings came back,none lost. i also went the other way from this computer,none lost all recieved. but i still cant get through that router to the internet.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    83

    To: New_to_RH_Linux

    Can you check the ip address of your eth0. You can do this by issuing the
    command:

    # ifconfig

    If your computer is connected to a gateway/router to the Internet, the
    gateway/router will usually assign an IP address to your PC if your
    PC is configured to automatically get an IP Address using DHCP.

    The "ifconfig" output would look something like the one below:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0E:7F:FF:A2:13
    inet addr:192.168.1.1 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: ae8a::32e:7fcf:faef:a233/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:226566 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:156193 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:140759582 (134.2 Mb) TX bytes:39732572 (37.8 Mb)
    Interrupt:5 Memory:f5fe0000-f5ff0000

    Try pinging your gateway (based on your last post show by the route -n),
    it is 192.168.2.1. You can check the gateway by doing:

    #ping 192.168.2.1

    If the ping was successful, try doing a nslookup:

    # nslookup www.linuxforums.org

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •