Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I am an total Linux noob. I can't seem to get Netscape to work on my system. I am usint the Fedora 3 Core. I get it installe, but it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with Netscape

I am an total Linux noob. I can't seem to get Netscape to work on my system. I am usint the Fedora 3 Core. I get it installe, but it will do nothing afterwords. Cand someone help me get this working, because it seems that I need Netscape in order to watch video on my system. Please help

By 'do nothing afterwards' what do you mean? that you can't find how to run the program, or the program gives errors when opening?

try in a terminal
    Code:
    netscape
    to get the browser running.

dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    By 'do nothing afterwards' what do you mean? that you can't find how to run the program, or the program gives errors when opening?

try in a terminal
    Code:
    netscape
    to get the browser running.

dylunio
    I mean that it did install the program but I cant figure out how to run the program. It is supposed to run automaticaly after it installs. I does not, and when I try to do it manually it doesnt work either. And running "netscape" in the terminal produces the following error: "Cannot display location file://netscape.

Just Joined!
    No one has any suggestions? I figure it is something really simple that I am over looking.

Why do you need Netscape for video? By the way, Mozilla comes with FC3; it's the open-source version of Netscape, and should install flawlessly.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Flatline