Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi Everyone, finally got on the internet, however I want to switch browers from Mozilla to Firefox. I have d.loaded the install file and need assitance on how to run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18

    FireFox Browser install w/RH 9.0


    Hi Everyone, finally got on the internet, however I want to switch browers from Mozilla to Firefox. I have d.loaded the install file and need assitance on how to run the program.

    I've followed the instructions on Firefox FAQ's and Tuturials however I can't run the .exe files.

    Any suggestions would be great.

    Thank you,
    C.R.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    There's no .exe files on Linux. Just do
    Code:
    ./firefox-installer
    in the directory the installer is located in. After you've gone through the install do
    Code:
    /path/to/directory/firefox
    if the Firefox executable file is located in "path/to/directory/".

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    177

    Re: FireFox Browser install w/RH 9.0

    Quote Originally Posted by dirk2004
    Hi Everyone, finally got on the internet, however I want to switch browers from Mozilla to Firefox. I have d.loaded the install file and need assitance on how to run the program.

    I've followed the instructions on Firefox FAQ's and Tuturials however I can't run the .exe files.

    Any suggestions would be great.

    Thank you,
    C.R.

    you have to run ./firefox-install from the downloaded directory
    and then create an application link to the firefox.bin file you can see all the firefox icons in the icon folder.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18
    Thanks for the help.

    I installed it, however need assistance on how to create a shortcut to it like the mozilla at
    the bottom of the screen.

    Any suggestions would be great.


    Regards,
    C.R.

  6. #5
    DFX
    DFX is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    45
    just go to the properties of the mozilla icon and change the command mozilla to firefox

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    18
    Thank you Everyone.

    It finally works.


    C.R.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •