Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
My problem is that, K3b and CDRoast don't see my drives. I have DVDrom and DVD-/+RW in my system. I'm using FedoraC3(2.6.9-1.667) with Gnome. I thought that I won't have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! vitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    77

    Problems with K3b and CDroast


    My problem is that, K3b and CDRoast don't see my drives. I have DVDrom and DVD-/+RW in my system. I'm using FedoraC3(2.6.9-1.667) with Gnome. I thought that I won't have to enable scsi-emulation(don't have a clue how to do that) when using kernel 2.6.

    So my question is, do i have to enable scsi-emulation or there is another way.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120
    No emulation needed in 2.6 (neither any extra configurations).
    Try k3b as 'root' and it will see your drive.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! vitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    77
    Tried it as root, and it worked. Thanks a lot.


    Edit: I also edited my "sudoers" file to let my self use "sudo" command with k3b. Now I don't have to be root to burn.
    I just type in "sudo k3b" and it's just as good.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    Remember that I had the similar problem when I used MDK 9.x,
    and if I recall correct, I had to allow k3b usage from within KDE controll center for other users than just "root"

  6. #5
    Just Joined! vitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    77
    I can burn regular CDs with no problem, but
    when was trying to burn a "DVD data cd" and it gave me an error:
    "couldn't find growisofs executable"

    Did any one had simmular problem. Maybe know how to fix it.

    Thank you.

  7. #6
    Just Joined! vitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    77
    I was able to find that executable in /etc/bin/growisofs, so i don't understand why k3b is not able to find it. I checked k3b's settings and it is configured to look for needed components in /usr/bin.

    I am really puzled

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •