Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, i am new to the Unix/Linux OS. as part of my uni course, i have to complete a Unix Programming module. I been tasked to develop a simple ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to unpack JAR files in Linux ?

Hi guys, i am new to the Unix/Linux OS. as part of my uni course, i have to complete a Unix Programming module. I been tasked to develop a simple shell script that uses some java programs that has been provided by my lecturer to aid in my assignment.

Now i am been trying to upack the jar files. I used jar --help and the help instructed me to use jar -x <nameofjarfiles> as parameters. Upon hitting the keyboard, the terminal didn't not respone and only after i used CRTL-C that it went back to the terminal.

Could someone help me out in the commands in unpacking the java jar files so that i could use them or instruct me to any pages that contains information of developing of shell scripts using java class files.

I'm currently using Fedora Core 2.

regards
    wilson

Linux Enthusiast
    It's no difference by using Java in Linux or any other OS.
    Unless it is a java that is not completly Sun Java compatible.

Just to be sure, you did not capitilize any in your command or options when you tried to extract your .jar file?

Linux Newbie
    same happens with me .. I guess you should install jdk ( Java Development Kit ) first. Not sure though ...

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Enthusiast
    Did you by any chance install any other version than the Sun Java 1.4.2?

If you did, remove it and install the one above.
    Me my self have a few bad experiences even with Sun 1.5.x
    But I do know there are a few other as "Kaffe" and so on, remove and install Sun, should be good enough with JRE 1.4.2

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by swemic
    Did you by any chance install any other version than the Sun Java 1.4.2?