Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, I'm dual booting XP and FC3, and I'm using GRUB. Is there any way I can change the names of the OS's in theGRUB menu? cause I get fedora ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4

    grub questions...


    Hi,

    I'm dual booting XP and FC3, and I'm using GRUB.
    Is there any way I can change the names of the OS's in theGRUB menu? cause I get fedora XXX (version num) and Other for winXP.
    Another thing: i updated the FC3 kernel, and now on the grub menu I get two fedoras, the previous and the updated version... how can I just have the updated version?

    Thanks You

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Can you post your /etc/grub.conf?

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    You can either change the entry from the grub splash screen, or edit your /boot/grub/grub.conf file and take out the second entry. The reason that it has two entries now is because there is now another kernel installed, so you may want to remove the old kernel as well.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Athens, GA
    Posts
    56
    Edit your /etc/grub.conf (as superuser, of course). All you have to do is change the words following 'title' to make them whatever you want. You can comment out the entries for the old kernel. It doesn't hurt to leave the stuff in there so that you can always roll back to boot from an old kernel if there's something about a new one that doesn't work right.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4
    k... thanks...

    One more thing: i installed fc3 on a notebook, and I'm currently writing on a pc... so I was trying to copy the grub.conf file to a flash disk by creating another file with the same content. However, that file didn't show up when I opened my flash disk in my pc (WinXP)... wtf?

    ty

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Athens, GA
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by freja
    ...However, that file didn't show up when I opened my flash disk in my pc (WinXP)... wtf?

    ty
    That may have to do with the way that Windows handles files by their filename extensions and they hide a lot of files they consider system files or something that they don't recognize. That's a total guess. groub.conf is just a regular old text file with nothing special. I suppose it could also be a matter of permissions on your flash disk, but since most of them are formatted fat32, that's not likely.

    Anyway, that sounds more like a windows problem than a Linux one, no?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •