Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am brand new to Red Hat. I have been using it for like 5 days now. And I think its a great system. And it works really great. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to Edit Xorg.conf ?

Hi, I am brand new to Red Hat. I have been using it for like 5 days now. And I think its a great system. And it works really great. But I wanted to change my screen resoultion to a better size. Preferable to a smaller size. My screen size is way to big at the moment and I don't like it that way. My current screen resoultion is 800 x 600. And also I have a Nvidia Geforce FX (Generic) it is a not to old video card. It is not so generic as the word says in the Display settings program. But not many choices to pick for so it was left with that.
    And I havn't went to Nvida's website to update the driver's for this linux system yet. I was a little afraid to download it for linux and not knew exactly what I was doing without consulting some help.

I was reading on the forum with the search feature. Now people can edit the Xorg.conf but every time I try to edit it to put more choices for the screen resoultion it wont even let me type anything.

So how do I edit the xorg.conf when it wont even let me type anything? Thanks for the help.

And I have a red hat pro 9.2 not sure what ele's I have. Because I havn't learned how to tell that info. I updated my system with mostly all the updates so it is uptodate.

I suggest running xorgconfig as root

Just Joined!
    India, At present in NTT, Japan as Partner Employee

have you tried vi editor

I am not sure if you have tried the same with vi editor, what is the location for this file, send the file permission as well.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!