Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi I have been using redhat 9.0 with a static IP, internet has worked fine. I have a dhcp server running for other computers on the network. Now when Im ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Mli
    Mli is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5

    dhcp problem, redhat 9.0


    Hi

    I have been using redhat 9.0 with a static IP, internet has worked fine.
    I have a dhcp server running for other computers on the network.

    Now when Im trying to configure my server to retrieve an IP from my ISP, im stuck. I have tried the tools that come with redhat 9.0 but I cant get an IP. (On boot ETH0 fails to get an IP)

    If I type dhclient eth0 the following happens:

    [root@localhost root]# dhclient eth0
    Internet Software Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.1rc13
    Copyright 1995-2002 Internet Software Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/products/DHCP

    Listening on Socket/eth0
    Sending on Socket/eth0
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 20
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    [root@localhost root]#

    I have googled a lot and tried different settings, but nothing seems to help.


    Mli

  2. #2
    Mli
    Mli is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Does anyone have a clue what could cause this problem? If I connect a XP-machine to the ADSL-box it gets an IP in a snap. Im really frustrated, since this should work pretty easily...


    Mli

  3. #3
    scm
    scm is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,044
    What does "ifconfig eth0" report?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Mli
    Mli is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Hi

    I solved the problem yesterday. There was a bug in /etc/dhclient-script.
    Now everything works like it should.

    Thanks
    Mli

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    17
    hi ,
    try the following command and see . in the line Bootproto change it to dhcp and see whether this works or not. it is working for me i am having a windows dhcp server , and i am getting ip from it. and using internet .

    [sudhakar@www ~]$vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
    DEVICE=eth0
    ONBOOT=yes
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp

  7. #6
    Mli
    Mli is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    sudhakarvytla: The system is already working. Your suggestion would not have solved the problem, since the dhclient-script was broken.

    Mli

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1

    bug in /etc/dhclient-script

    Hi

    I solved the problem yesterday. There was a bug in /etc/dhclient-script.
    Now everything works like it should.

    Thanks
    Mli


    Mli

    Could you please show us the bug as I will transfer my linux box to use dhclient

  9. #8
    Mli
    Mli is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    The bug was only in release V3.0.1rc13 of the client script. If you use a newer version, there should hopefully be no problems. I have lost the url where they mentioned the bug, but maybe the page is still out there...

    Mli

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •