Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
I guess I'll just reinstall F.C. 3 or another distro. I didn't have all these problems with Mandrake. Right now, I am having many problems, not just mounting. My sound ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lorton, VA.
    Posts
    27

    I guess I'll just reinstall F.C. 3 or another distro. I didn't have all these problems with Mandrake.

    Right now, I am having many problems, not just mounting. My sound doesn't even work with the new kernels I installed since the release of 3. Yet, the sound works with the original kernel. I installed the new kernels through Update Manager. No one seems to be able to help me, yet this is a common problem, I have been reading and hearing.

    Also, nothing is mounting like they should. My CD-ROM isn't even mounting. So, I can't listen to music through the old kernel that has sound. I cannot get it to mount.

    Just screw this.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    110
    dude
    give one more try as rootfor u root is only accessible)
    cd /mnt
    mkdir winc
    kedit /etc/fstab
    add this line to fstab if ur windows partion is on hda1
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/winc vfat user,rw,owner,umask=000 0 0
    save it.
    type
    mount -a
    and go to /mnt/winc and see if ur windows partion is mounted there.
    and if it is u wont have to remount it manually everytime u login.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lorton, VA.
    Posts
    27
    Thanks, Tarun.

    I'll give this one more shot and go by your directions.

    Maybe if this works, you can help with my sound and CDROM problem.

    Hahaa...

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lorton, VA.
    Posts
    27
    HOLY CRAP!

    It worked!!!

    Thanks so much. When I booted into my regular user account, the mounted partion was there.

    So, how do I do this for my CDROM drive?

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    110
    see i dont know the setting so that the cdrom is autodetected when mounted but i tell you how to mount it manually.When you insert your CDrom got to terminal loging as a root:
    type:
    mount /dev/hdd /media/cdrecorder
    then goto /media/cdrecorder and see if there is anything.

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    110
    to get the cd out you will have to do:
    umount /dev/hdd
    n then press the button otherwise it wont come out.

  7. #17
    scm
    scm is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,044
    Quote Originally Posted by tarun
    to get the cd out you will have to do:
    umount /dev/hdd
    n then press the button otherwise it wont come out.
    On FC2 and 3 you can use the eject command which will unmount the device and open the drawer.

  8. #18
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    110
    the eject command gives me :


    [tarun@mysterio ~]$ eject
    eject: unable to find or open device for: `cdrom'
    [tarun@mysterio ~]$ eject /dev/hdd
    umount: /media/cdrecorder: device is busy
    umount: /media/cdrecorder: device is busy
    eject: unmount of `/media/cdrecorder' failed
    [tarun@mysterio ~]$

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Lorton, VA.
    Posts
    27
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# mount /dev/hdd /media/cdrecorder
    mount: special device /dev/hdd does not exist
    [root@localhost ~]# mount /dev/hdc /media/cdrecorder
    /dev/hdc: Input/output error
    mount: block device /dev/hdc is write-protected, mounting read-only
    /dev/hdc: Input/output error
    mount: /dev/hdc: can't read superblock
    [root@localhost ~]#
    This is the message I get when I try mounting the CDROM.

    Anyone?

  10. #20
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Look in /dev/ and look for something like symlinks cdrecorder and cdrom.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •