Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
hi, ive just done a fresh install with FC4 (well i think alot of us have but anyway) and i can seem to get my java working the way it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    235

    firefox and java


    hi, ive just done a fresh install with FC4 (well i think alot of us have but anyway) and i can seem to get my java working the way it used to. it does work, however when i go to play runescape the java just leaves a big grey box with an x in the corner. is neone else having problems?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    you do have java installed, right? I guess you do...

  3. #3
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    Follow Linux steps here: http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/faq#q2.2

    Not sure why it would work sometimes, and sometimes be broken. Maybe you need a different JRE version.

    edit: I just noticed that I assumed you run firefox...

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    235
    yes i have it installed. im using 1.4-08 j2re, just as i used in fedora 3. most java apps work just fine.

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    609
    After installing Fedora 4, I grabbed java-jre-1_5_0_02.
    Installed it (watch file/directory permissions) and it works without a problem...

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    235
    yea thats what i just did, i accidently deleted my other plugin tho. can someone go into /usr/firefox-1.0.4/plugins and tell me what .so files are in there. thx. i feel like an idiot right now, but firefox wont work so i kinda need it.

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    235
    never mind, i forgot that i have 4 computers in my room that all use linux. but i have another problem that seems a bit worse. whenever i start firefox i get nothing, so i did it in the console and i got this.
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# firefox %u
    INTERNAL ERROR on Browser End: Could not get the plugin manager
    System error?:: Success
    ne ideas?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •