Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Pleae help me if you can. I have previously had SUSE 9.2 pro up and running with no problems plus many other Distros but FC 4 will not install. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Harwich - England
    Posts
    52

    FC 4 Will not install at all


    Pleae help me if you can. I have previously had SUSE 9.2 pro up and running with no problems plus many other Distros but FC 4 will not install. The installation for no apparent reason as the installing media screen comes up. All it seems to do is delete the HD format table and hangs with no errors at all.
    I am running with the following;
    GA-K8NS Ultra 939
    AMD Athlon 64 3000
    1 Gig RAM
    Radeon 9550 Guru 128Mb Graphics (I know it not this because I have also tried a GeForce 2 MX400/64Mb)
    2 off 120Gb SATA Maxtor HDD
    Panasonic 109 Dual layer DVD burner
    Light on 48x24x48 CD R/W
    I am using the onboard Eth adaptor

    I have downloaded the DVD and it passed the media check I have also downloaded the CD set of 5 and they also passed the media check.

    I'm afraid I'm totally stumped if anyone has any ideas they would be greatfully received.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Cross-posting the same question in multiple forums is considered a NO-NO. Better read the forum rules again...

  3. #3
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    Try using a hard drive tool to zero the HD and then try again (if you are using the whole thing for FC4). Also, maybe post what HD preparation/partitioning scheme you are trying to use.

    Sometimes if your partition table is really badly messed up it can crash an installer that expects things to be a certain way. That has happened to me several times. I used a tool called BootItNG that can fixed up HD probs left by previous OS installs.

    You could also google for FC4 install problems, maybe someone else had the same thing.
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You might also try some of the boot options if you haven't already. Sometimes one or more of them can get you through the install. Let us know...

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Harwich - England
    Posts
    52
    sda is NTFS for win XP sdb is purely for Linux. As for HDD partitioning I have only used the installers recommended i.e. swap etc. on sdb but the bootloader is on sda as recommended. Boot order is sda sdb.

    I also use an LCD display so I have tried the nofd promt from the boot to no avail. I have also tried the text installer.

    I intend to use all of sdb for FC 4 at moment in time.

    PS pleae be gentle with me as my Linux experience is next to zero and I am not a programmer. I asume that you meant 'format' when you said HD zero?

  6. #6
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    sd? Is it a SCSI drive? if so i've never installed on SCSI seeing as i don't have any
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Harwich - England
    Posts
    52
    SDa/b is SATA from the mobo with no adaptor card. My mobo (or even Windows) do not require separate drivers for these as they are mobo supported.

  8. #8
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    sata srives are almost always listed as an scsi device although they are actualy ata devices. from what i remember, maxtor drives and linux can have problems with eachother sometimes. from what i hear though fc4 is expected to have support, although i believe fc4 is still in heavy testing so it could be that is the problem. i wonder if knoppix detects the drives. if so you might want to give debian a try.
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •