Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Is there any other way to change the screen resolution besides editing the xorg.conf file or using the "display client" in fc3? i've tried editing my xorg.conf file, adding in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612

    Changing Screen Resolution Without xorg.conf?


    Is there any other way to change the screen resolution besides editing the xorg.conf file or using the "display client" in fc3?

    i've tried editing my xorg.conf file, adding in a new screen resolution (1280x740) which i think is the right ratio for my LCD on my laptop. My screen ratio is 16:10.

    i've read an article on commenting out the HorizSync and VertRefresh lines. When i did that they just got replaced with the same exact line and the commented ones got moved to the top, as you can see below. Everything on my screen looks too wide except in larger resolutions. But when i use the larger resolutions there are two black spaces that are not used on the left and right side of my monitor (i cannot move my mouse in them and nothing shows in them).

    If anyone knows of any tutorials/how-to's or how i can go about fixing this i really would appreciate the help.

    Section "Monitor"
    #HorizSync 31.5 - 100.0
    #VertRefresh 59.0 - 75.0
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "LCD Panel 1440x900"
    HorizSync 31.5 - 100.0
    VertRefresh 59.0 - 75.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nv"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x960" "1280x740" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x740" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Group 0
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    Try with DefaultDepth 16.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    No go. i think that just deals with how many colors the system uses.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Throw up some info about your monitor, I may be able to help. I have a WUXGA 1920x1200 and I have run it in lots of the 16:10 resolutions, maybe some of my config will help you.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    It's a laptop and it's an lcd screen. It's an Alienware computer, an Area 51M. Unfortunatly the owners manual doens't have any information about who makes it or anything about else. All i know is it's an active matrix TFT LCD screen and it's a wide screen one. Is there any commands i can run that will help you out regarding my monitor or other hardware that could help with the problem?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    try removing all the modes that dont apply or put the one u want default first in the line
    or since you have many resolutioens in xorc.conf yo can juust toggel through them with the 'ctrl alt + or -'
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    No go on either.. Another thing i tried was installing NVIDIA drivers instead of using the ones Linux has, it seems to have worked for the login screen but when i log into root or a user it goes to the weird resolution again. i am pretty sure it is working for the login screen anyway. When i delete lines from the xorg.conf file that load in module they get replaced somehow and the commented out line stays in though. That happens when i restart. The NVIDIA readme said to take out the lines that load "dri" and "GLCore". GLCore wasn't there but dri is and i can't get rid of it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •