Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1

    connecting to my redhat9 box from another windows XP box via ftp or ssh or telnet


    Hello,
    I'm trying to be able to ftp files from my windows xp box to my red hat 9 box. I'd also like to be able to telnet or ssh to the machine to edit files using vi.

    I'm having a problem connecting. I have been searching around on the web trying to find answers. I located the /etc/xinetd.d/telnet file and edited that to change the disabled parameter from yes to no

    Upon trying to connect via telnet I still get the message:
    C:\>telnet 192.168.0.4
    Connecting To 192.168.0.4...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23.
    No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.

    I understand telnet may not be as preferred as ssh, but I am just trying to get one of them to work.

    If someone has experience getting ftp and either telnet or ssh to work like this, please let me know what I may need to do.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Just do:
    Code:
    yum install openssh
    Then generate the keys per the manpage, and run /usr/sbin/sshd

  3. #3
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    I know with ssh you have to be running the server on the machine (sshd), and perhaps there is something similar for telnet. Have you checked this??
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    I know with ssh you have to be running the server on the machine (sshd), and perhaps there is something similar for telnet. Have you checked this??
    telnetd.

  6. #5
    Do I need an SSH client to connect from windows or is there a way to use command line?

    I have both sshd and telnet server running on the redhat 9 machine.

    Here is what I get when I try to connect via ftp

    C:\>ftp 192.168.0.4
    > ftp: connect :Unknown error number
    ftp>

    Thanks for any help.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    You could either use the ssh with Cygwin or use Putty.

  8. #7
    There seems to be something preventing me from connecting. I have the services running, but they just can't seem to connect.

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California!
    Posts
    159
    Quote Originally Posted by scib11
    Do I need an SSH client to connect from windows or is there a way to use command line?

    .

    just install SSHWindows from here: http://sshwindows.sourceforge.net/

    then you can ssh from the windows command line just like you would a unix comand line.
    Registered Linux User # 392752

    • \"pr0n\": An anagram of \"porn,\" possibly indicating the use of pornography.

  10. #9
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Another good choice is WinScp. We use it to go from XP to Fedora Core 3 all day long. It has a nice Midnight Commander type interface, and dragging and dropping files from Linux to Windows and back is a snap.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  11. #10
    Thanks for the info.

    This still doesn't explain why I am not able to connect though. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

    I know I have the service running...
    I've tried to use:
    service iptables stop
    I've edited the hosts.allow file to read
    ALL : 192.168.
    still to no avail

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •