Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hello, I am experienced with linux to a certain point but with the old fashion stuff like ./configure make and make install this rpm stuff I have no clue about! ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97

    updating rpm's


    Hello,

    I am experienced with linux to a certain point but with the old fashion stuff like ./configure make and make install
    this rpm stuff I have no clue about!

    I have Redhat Enterprise AS 3.0 and alot of stuff I removed the rpm and redid by hand myself but there are a few things I Don't want to do this with.
    how do I update a really old rpm to a new one?
    for example
    rpm -qa | grep openssh
    openssh-3.6.1p2-18
    openssh-askpass-3.6.1p2-18
    openssh-clients-3.6.1p2-18
    openssh-server-3.6.1p2-18
    openssh-askpass-gnome-3.6.1p2-18


    those are quite old and I would like to update them.
    how do I go abouts doing that using rpm and not having to install from the ground up? where do I obtain the latest rpm?

    thank you

    Luma

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    You can search around online for the latest RPM (Googling would be the best bet) and then use "rpm -Uvh <RPM name>" or you can use yum (or a similar program of your choice).
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    is Yum gui or command line? I only use command line, no gui installed on this machine.

    I have found openSSH rpm for RH9.0 and FC2 but not for Enterprise 3.0 (on the openssh ftp site)

    grr I prefer the manual way takes a LOT longer but easier to manage in my opinion

    Luma

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    classified
    Posts
    246
    Apt can be used from the commandline. Check into it.

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    yum can also be used from the command line.
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    70
    i run yum from the command line

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    yum update openssh, or if you really love GUI, you can use Yum Extender.

  9. #8
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    Ya just run as root:

    Code:
    yum update openssh openssh-askpass openssh-clients openssh-server openssh-askpass-gnome

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    186
    Code:
    yum opdate openssh
    (yum automatically takes care of all dependencies) or
    Code:
    yum update openssh*
    will do. Btw, yum works muuuch better from the CLI than from the GUI... At least from what I experienced...
    You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    ok Yum looks like it could do teh job well but small problem I have found.
    when looking at all the Yum stuff I noticed its for FC2 and RH9.0
    can it handle Enterprise Server AS 3.0?

    thanks

    Luma

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •