Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I've got Fedora FC4 and XP. Had Mandrake 10.1 before that, and everytime I needed something from the "xp harddrive" I just needed to go to /mnt/windows and it was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19

    How to mount the NTFS XP drive?


    I've got Fedora FC4 and XP.

    Had Mandrake 10.1 before that, and everytime I needed something from the "xp harddrive" I just needed to go to /mnt/windows and it was just like C:.

    What shall I do so I would be able to read / move files from the XP to Fedora?


    Thanks anyways.


    Then Someone answered me


    ( post #2)

    Well, you need to know which partition (/dev/hd??) contains the windows image.
    If you aren't sure - do the following:

    code:

    fdisk /dev/hda (or hdb, whichever physical drive it resides on)

    command (m for help): p



    (press q to quit)

    This will print the list of partitions on that drive. Write down the /dev/hd?? that belongs to the Windows partition (it will be labeled)

    Then, simply do this:

    code:

    mkdir /mnt/windows
    mount /dev/hd?? /mnt/windows


    Replace the ?? with the info you got from fdisk.

    If that errors out - i.e. "You must specify the filesystem type" - then try:

    code:

    mount -t ntfs /dev/hd?? /mnt/windows



    Good luck!

    but I wasn't sure about what to do
    then I did this
    [img]
    http://www.look4anime.com/sse.jpg
    [/img]
    but it faild, can anyone help me maybe?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    The problem is that Fedora doesn't come with ntfs support compiled into the kernel, you might want to download and install Linux-NTFS. Follow the instructions there to a letter, and you will be able to read and copy files from your windows partition
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    I didn't see x86_64 edition
    :S

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Look at this page: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/index.html ald look down it. You will see
    17 July 2005 - FlatCap (Rich)
    New NTFS RPM - 2.6.12-1.1398_FC4.
    Thanks to Thomas Seppi for the 64-bit RPM for Fedora 4.


    RPM is the easiest way to install
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    For starters, it is impossible to write to an NTFS partition with Linux.

    The previous instructions were to use the command
    Code:
    fdisk <drive designation>
    . This will need to be executed as root (and may possibly have to use the full path:
    Code:
    /sbin/fdisk <drive designation>
    The drive designation will begin with 'hd' if you are using IDE drives and 'sd' if you are using SATA drives. The following character tells Linux which of the disks you are referring to, starting with 'a'. So, for example, 'sda' is the first SATA drive or 'hdb' is the second IDE drive. Partitions within drives are then defined by a number (eg. 'sda1' and 'hdb3' would be the first and third partitions of the previously mentioned drives respectively)

    Once you are in 'fdisk', type 'p' and press return. This will give you a table of all the partitions on the drive. Make a note of which partiton it is on (the number following the drive designation) and then quit 'fdisk' by typing 'q'.

    Then type:
    Code:
    mkdir <location to mount the Windows drive>
    mount -t ntfs <drive/partition designation> <location to mount Windows drive>
    This will create a directory for the Windows data to be mounted to, and then mount said data to it. You can then access it by simply changing to the appropriate directory.

    I hope this helps.

    Dan
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    after I've downloaded the rpm and rpmed -i and it was good, what now?

    :S

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    Follow the instructions in my post...
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    19
    after the RPM -i install it's still says

    Code:
    &#91;root@localhost downloads&#93;# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows -t ntfs
    mount&#58; unknown filesystem type 'ntfs'

  10. #9
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    READ the instructions they give: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/instructions.html

    Odd_Bloke: He's already tried what you sadi and it will not work untill he has got the ntfs driver, since fedora doesn't come with it pre-selected in the kernel. So one can either install this driver, or recompile the kernel.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    Odd_Bloke: He's already tried what you sadi and it will not work untill he has got the ntfs driver, since fedora doesn't come with it pre-selected in the kernel. So one can either install this driver, or recompile the kernel.
    I assumed, as he said he'd installed the RPM, that he'd be able to follow the instructions. I also missed the image link in his post first time through so didn't realise how far he had got.
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •