Find the answer to your Linux question:
I enabled remote desktop on my FC4 box and I'm able to connect from another PC using a VNC client. But I can only connect to another session in progress ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

noob VNC Question (FC4)

I enabled remote desktop on my FC4 box and I'm able to connect from another PC using a VNC client. But I can only connect to another session in progress - that is, I have to log in to the FC4 box directly as a particular user before I can connect remotely and view that session. When no user is logged in, my VNC client fails to make a connection.

I want to be able to _log in_ remotely and start up a session. How do I do that?

I've tried enabling remote desktop through the menu system and by running vncserver from the CLI, both as a standard user and as root, but neither option has worked for me.

thanks for your help!
    fandango

Just Joined!
    Well, I am kinda new to the Linux world, but I do know that when you enable the remote desktop, you are only enabling it for the session you are currently in. There are ways to make VNC run as a system service, but I'm not that good yet