Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28
thats what i got after 30 min [root@myeasyroots ~]# more /var/log/messages Sep 13 17:53:49 myeasyroots syslogd 1.4.1: restart. Sep 13 18:13:49 myeasyroots -- MARK -- Sep 13 18:33:49 myeasyroots -- ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    thats what i got after 30 min

    [root@myeasyroots ~]# more /var/log/messages
    Sep 13 17:53:49 myeasyroots syslogd 1.4.1: restart.
    Sep 13 18:13:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 18:33:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 18:53:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 19:13:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 19:33:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 19:53:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 20:13:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 20:33:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 20:53:50 myeasyroots -- MARK --

    [root@myeasyroots ~]# dmesg | grep dhc
    audit(1158165687.472:586): avc: denied { write } for pid=2500 comm="dhclient" name="log" dev=tmpfs ino=367751 scontext=user_u:system_r:dhcpc_t:s0 tcontext=user_u:object_r:device_t:s0 tclass=sock_file

  2. #22
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    WOW, somethings not right here
    [root@myeasyroots ~]# more /var/log/messages
    Sep 13 17:53:49 myeasyroots syslogd 1.4.1: restart.
    Sep 13 18:13:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 18:33:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 18:53:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 19:13:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 19:33:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 19:53:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 20:13:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 20:33:49 myeasyroots -- MARK --
    Sep 13 20:53:50 myeasyroots -- MARK --


    I'm not sure what the problem is, but it cant be good.
    Have you rebooted recently? more /var/log/messages should bring up a whole bunch of junk, all the stuff you see when booting up should be there. So, I'm kinda confused right now. Sorry.
    you could try to reboot and watch your screen during boot-up for messages related to CDROMS, you might have to use the pause/break key if it scrolls too fast.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    11
    check data cables attached to CDROM or replace those.



    cheers !
    diz

  4. #24
    Just Joined! Wraithfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    5
    So what about a floppy? mkdir /media/floppy, right? And if
    Code:
    /dev/hdc                /media/cdrom      iso9660         ro,user  0 0
    makes a cmdrom mount, then
    Code:
    /dev/fd0                /media/floppy        ????             rw,user 0 0
    would make a floppy disk mount point, but what about the filesystem section? Not sure what a floppy would use.

  5. #25
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Try auto
    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto rw,user 0 0
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #26
    Just Joined! Wraithfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    5
    Thanks, worked like a charm. Funny, the first floppy i grabbed to test it on had a document that my buddy was looking for some years ago.

  7. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3
    Hi guys,
    i have been following all this thread cos I have the same problem: I can't mount nor see the CD/DVD burner attached to my machine.
    Its a brand new Intel mobo with Duo2 CPU.

    I have the same /etc/fstab as our friend who originally posted here.

    Quote Originally Posted by charlesachang
    Contents of "/etc/fstab"

    /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0

    I use FC5, freshly installed. The issue is that I don't have any hda, hdb etc etc I suspect that this is due to the fact that I had to select AHCI in my BIOS to make the system see my SATA HDD.

    So my dmesg | grep hd returns:

    SCSI device sda: 488397168 512-byte hdwr sectors (250059 MB)
    SCSI device sda: 488397168 512-byte hdwr sectors (250059 MB)
    SCSI device sdb: 488397168 512-byte hdwr sectors (250059 MB)
    SCSI device sdb: 488397168 512-byte hdwr sectors (250059 MB)
    hda_codec: num_steps = 0 for NID=0x17
    e1000: eth0: e1000_watchdog: NIC Link is Up 1000 Mbps Full Duplex


    while dmesg | grep sda returns:

    SCSI device sda: 488397168 512-byte hdwr sectors (250059 MB)
    sda: Write Protect is off
    sda: Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    SCSI device sda: drive cache: write back
    SCSI device sda: 488397168 512-byte hdwr sectors (250059 MB)
    sda: Write Protect is off
    sda: Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    SCSI device sda: drive cache: write back
    sda: sda1 sda2
    sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi disk sda
    EXT3 FS on sda1, internal journal
    SELinux: initialized (dev sda1, type ext3), uses xattr


    So, it seems my SATA HDD are seen as SCSI.

    /prov/version returns:

    Linux version 2.6.18-1.2257.fc5smp (brewbuilder@ls20-bc1-14.build.redhat.com) (g
    cc version 4.1.1 20060525 (Red Hat 4.1.1-1)) #1 SMP Fri Dec 15 16:33:51 EST 2006

    I don't see any "cdrom" or anything that reminds of it under /dev/
    My /media/ is empty
    I don't have any CDROM icon on the KDE desktop even if I insert a CDROM in the driver
    Of course I installed FC5 from a DVD on the same machine, so the DVD reader is working. It's all brand new HW (1 week old).

    Any idea ???
    THX
    CIPO

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3

    Solved

    Hi guys,

    I managed to solve the issue. I had to put "all-generic-ide" as boot parameter in GRUB. Now I can see the CD icon on desktop and see it udner the /dev
    THX
    CIPO

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •