Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi.. i'm running FC5 (GNOME)on a 2.0GHz, 512MR,120G HD, but the performance isn't exactly what i'm dreaming of... it takes time to open Firefox or Email clint... and when i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27

    Slow Slow fedora......


    Hi..
    i'm running FC5 (GNOME)on a 2.0GHz, 512MR,120G HD,
    but the performance isn't exactly what i'm dreaming of...
    it takes time to open Firefox or Email clint... and when i try to use any admenistrating tool.. it keeps loading for long time (some times over one mnt!)
    i read some stuff about increasing Vertual memory... but i don't know how.. and i'm not sure if this is the write answer...

    any help?!

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    If your swap partition is more than 1 GB then there is nothing you can do. If not then increase your swap to 1 GB. Anyways don't expect any miracles, instead read this: http://www.techiemoe.com/
    Check out the rants section on this page. Then choose a distro wisely. Good Luck in your linux journey.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by apoorv_khurasia
    If your swap partition is more than 1 GB then there is nothing you can do. If not then increase your swap to 1 GB. Anyways don't expect any miracles, instead read this: http://www.techiemoe.com/
    Check out the rants section on this page. Then choose a distro wisely. Good Luck in your linux journey.


    what is SWAP Partition?! where to find it? is converting to KDE woll halp any how? i didn't expect Linux to be 4 times slower than XP!!! or may be something wrong with my computer?!

    thanks again

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    123
    Yea, fedora is a pretty beefy install. It's only fast on the latest machines. I'd try debian, compiling everything from source and using the XFCE lightweight desktop

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27
    so .. you recomment debien? is it easy to install? i hope it doesn't have the same problem cause i tried mandriva.. and it was 10 times slower than fedora...

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    u can stop a few services....

    well !! my machine's configuration is same as urs.... FC5 is working very fine.....
    there r few services which u shud stop to make it a bit fast....

    u r using GNOME so...
    system--administration--server settings--services

    these r service which u can stop....
    anacorn, apmd, atd, avahi-daemon, bluetooth (if u r not using it), cpuspeed, cups, cups-config-daemon, mdmonitor, nfslook, rpcgssd, rpcidmapd, sendmail...

    stop these services, unckeck checkboxes n save...

    i m working on 'how to add softwares thru cd... let u kno soon"
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27
    woow...
    thanks sir...
    i believe without your help... i'ld have been another Windows Victum...!
    you keep saving my life...

    so...
    FC5 is good for me?!
    then what is the best? GNOME? or KDE?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    Smile

    well !! GNOME n KDE both r good...

    main difference in GNOME n KDE (if we leave a few technical aspects)... is applications attached to certian file extensions n the way they work... visual styles, themes etc..

    e.g. GNOME uses 'gedit' to open text documents n KDE uses 'kwrite'...
    i use KDE but like 'gedit' of GNOME... coz we can use non-KDE application in KDE... i attached 'gedit' with text documents...now... in KDE, text documents r opened in GNOME's 'gedit'......

    try both environments n check out where u feel comfortable...

    <=== (devil's casper} ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •