Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Okay this is for anyone who is having trouble installing JRE on Fedora Core 5. (1.)log into your root user. (2.)Go to this link ( http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp ) and download the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation How to install Java Runtime Envoriment on Fedora Core 5


    Okay this is for anyone who is having trouble installing JRE on Fedora Core 5.


    (1.)log into your root user.

    (2.)Go to this link ( http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp ) and download the Linux self-extracting file (jre-1_5_0_07-linux-i586.bin) NOT THE RPM!

    (3.)Move jre-1_5_0_07-linux-i586.bin to your /opt/ folder.

    (4.)Open the terminal and type "cd /opt/" without the ".

    (5.)[root@localhost opt]# sh ./jre-1_5_0_06-linux-i586.bin
    (type 'yes')

    (6.)[root@localhost opt]# mv -f jre1.5* /opt/jre1.5

    (7.)[root@localhost opt]# ln -s /opt/jre1.5/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so

    Now we will install the JRE package into Mozilla through 'alternatives'. When Mozilla runs 'java' command, FC5 will always choose the default "GNU Java" for Mozilla to choose Sun's java do the following.

    (1)[root@localhost opt]# /usr/sbin/alternatives --install /usr/bin/java java /opt/jre1.5/bin/java 2
    (2.)[root@localhost opt]# echo 2 | alternatives --config java
    "It will ask to choose which one, Type "Echo 2" then go to number (3.) below"

    (3.)[root@localhost opt]# java -version
    When you enter this, It will tell you the version of the java that you just installed. IF it doesn't show anything or gives you an error, Delete the jre1.5 folder in /opt/ start over.

    This is what it should look like (see below) if you done it right.

    java version "1.5.0_07"
    Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_07-b03)
    Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_07-b03, mixed mode, sharing)

    Simple and easy instructions

  2. #2
    Just Joined! rambutan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Posts
    72
    Another opinion ---
    I like to use a user ID with Firefox to download jre from www.java.com
    Then use "su -" in a terminal window to make a directory, copy the download in, change permissions, run the install, make a link, copy the link to ./mozilla/plugins for all users. I use # nautilus for some steps because it's easier than typing in commands.

    My notes from my last install (to use for my next install):
    6-23-06 - SuSE installed Java jre-1_5_0_07-linux on Gateway Laptop
    started at www.java.com
    downloaded jre.....bin using Firefox user jo, saved to /home/jo/documents
    $ su -
    # mkdir /usr/java
    # nautilus
    in nautilus copied the jre download to /usr/java
    in nautilus right click properties and set execute on for everyone.
    back to terminal window [Ctrl]+c to kill nautilus
    # cd /usr/java
    ( if not done in nautilus # chmod a+x jre-1...rpm.bin)
    # ls -l to verify you have permission to execute the file x for everyone and copy name
    # ./jre-1_...-rpm.bin
    pop-up for license agreement spacebar to roll down - then yes
    unpacking ... checksumming ... extracting ...
    Preparing ########## 100%
    1:jre ############## 100%
    returns to root prompt again #
    # nautilus
    go to /usr/java/jre1.5.0_07/plugin/i386/ns7
    right click on the file libjavaplugin_oji.so and select 'make a link'
    Copy the newly created link.
    go to each user's directory ./mozilla/plugins and paste in the link. (mkdir if needed)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by rambutan
    Another opinion ---
    I like to use a user ID with Firefox to download jre from www.java.com
    Then use "su -" in a terminal window to make a directory, copy the download in, change permissions, run the install, make a link, copy the link to ./mozilla/plugins for all users. I use # nautilus for some steps because it's easier than typing in commands.

    My notes from my last install (to use for my next install):
    6-23-06 - SuSE installed Java jre-1_5_0_07-linux on Gateway Laptop
    started at www.java.com
    downloaded jre.....bin using Firefox user jo, saved to /home/jo/documents
    $ su -
    # mkdir /usr/java
    # nautilus
    in nautilus copied the jre download to /usr/java
    in nautilus right click properties and set execute on for everyone.
    back to terminal window [Ctrl]+c to kill nautilus
    # cd /usr/java
    ( if not done in nautilus # chmod a+x jre-1...rpm.bin)
    # ls -l to verify you have permission to execute the file x for everyone and copy name
    # ./jre-1_...-rpm.bin
    pop-up for license agreement spacebar to roll down - then yes
    unpacking ... checksumming ... extracting ...
    Preparing ########## 100%
    1:jre ############## 100%
    returns to root prompt again #
    # nautilus
    go to /usr/java/jre1.5.0_07/plugin/i386/ns7
    right click on the file libjavaplugin_oji.so and select 'make a link'
    Copy the newly created link.
    go to each user's directory ./mozilla/plugins and paste in the link. (mkdir if needed)
    The way I posted sets up your main user with the jre, so you don't have to go to every user and paste any links

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    514
    Quote Originally Posted by rambutan
    Another opinion ---
    I like to use a user ID with Firefox to download jre from www.java.com
    Then use "su -" in a terminal window to make a directory, copy the download in, change permissions, run the install, make a link, copy the link to ./mozilla/plugins for all users. I use # nautilus for some steps because it's easier than typing in commands.

    My notes from my last install (to use for my next install):
    6-23-06 - SuSE installed Java jre-1_5_0_07-linux on Gateway Laptop
    started at www.java.com
    downloaded jre.....bin using Firefox user jo, saved to /home/jo/documents
    $ su -
    # mkdir /usr/java
    # nautilus
    in nautilus copied the jre download to /usr/java
    in nautilus right click properties and set execute on for everyone.
    back to terminal window [Ctrl]+c to kill nautilus
    # cd /usr/java
    ( if not done in nautilus # chmod a+x jre-1...rpm.bin)
    # ls -l to verify you have permission to execute the file x for everyone and copy name
    # ./jre-1_...-rpm.bin
    pop-up for license agreement spacebar to roll down - then yes
    unpacking ... checksumming ... extracting ...
    Preparing ########## 100%
    1:jre ############## 100%
    returns to root prompt again #
    # nautilus
    go to /usr/java/jre1.5.0_07/plugin/i386/ns7
    right click on the file libjavaplugin_oji.so and select 'make a link'
    Copy the newly created link.
    go to each user's directory ./mozilla/plugins and paste in the link. (mkdir if needed)
    You are not supposed to do this because Sun's RPM breaks a lot of stuff in Linux. I prefer the way of properly rebuilding RPMs using the JPackage sources.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by spoon!
    You are not supposed to do this because Sun's RPM breaks a lot of stuff in Linux. I prefer the way of properly rebuilding RPMs using the JPackage sources.
    Well I don't really care that much for java, but my mother uses this computer also, and she plays java based games which require suns J2RE or I would have never even installed it, and I only posted it if someone like me who has a mother who plays or them selves play the games.

  6. #6
    Just Joined! rambutan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Posts
    72
    I use Java for NOAA's time lapse weather radar.

    I've always felt that installing an rpm is a "black box" kind of risk.
    But wouldn't a source code be about the same just "optimized" for my PC?
    Unless of course I review each line of code before compiling and edit out the risky lines.

    Since I didn't see any negative impact immediately after installing the rpm, now I could not link cause and effect to java. Any detail of what stuff it breaks?

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hell
    Posts
    514
    So FC4's release notes mention some problems with its provides conficting with names of packages in Fedora Core. FC5's release notes no longer mention this; I'm not sure what is with that. Also related is this bug report which has been open for more than 4 years about Sun's RPMs not following LSB filesystem hierarchy.

  8. #8
    Just Joined! rambutan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Posts
    72
    Cool, I like the learning process Linux throws at me.

    My view:
    1 The FC4 issue is name conflict - risk is java gets bumped off when the conflicting name gets updated.
    2 The bug is failure to comply to standards, in file locations mostly.

    So.. Why not try jpacakges? I waded around in www.jpackage.org looks like I need to update repos for yum, easy enough
    add "jpackage.repo" to the folder "/etc/yum.repos.d"

    What command to issue to get yum to find and install jre?
    Just yum install jre ?
    yum update jre ? to get the lastest and reorganize existing file - folder non-conpliance?

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2
    Hey Vegeta I am getting an error message when i give the command:

    ln -s /opt/jre1.5/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so

    the message is: ln: target `plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so' is not a directory

    what do i do???

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by psychotropic
    Hey Vegeta I am getting an error message when i give the command:

    ln -s /opt/jre1.5/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so

    the message is: ln: target `plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so' is not a directory

    what do i do???
    Vegeta f*@Cked up. There should be a (foward slash) / between "mozilla" and "plugins". Psychotropic, you could have easily found this error if you went through each directory. I would recommend this for newbies: GO THROUGH THE DIRECTORIES and see how the Linux is structured. By the way, Vegeta; Thanks for the guide.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •