Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm new to Linux so please bear with me. Unfortunatley, I've spent the last 25 years looking at computers via DOS prompts and Windows icons and such, so ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unhappy upgraded FC2 to FC5 - now getting kernel panic!

Hi all,

I'm new to Linux so please bear with me. Unfortunatley, I've spent the last 25 years looking at computers via DOS prompts and Windows icons and such, so getting my head around Linux is a bit of a change!

About a week ago I decided to dump WinXP-Sp2 from my web server and install a distribution of Linux Fedora Core 2 I bought a couple of years ago (yes, just could never get the courage to install it!).

The installation went fine and I've spent the last week playing around with it and learning how to do things in Linux.

Then I found that there is Core 5 available. So, I downloaded the DVD ISO image for the x86 and burnt it onto a DVD via another WinXP-Sp2 PC.

I then ran the DVD setup onto the Core 2 PC and selected 'upgrade'. This all went fine (took about 4 hours to install!).

But on the first re-boot (after removing the installation DVD), the system displayed the error message shown below:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Booting 'Fedora Core (2.6.15-1.2054_FC5)'
    root (hd0,0)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /vmluniz-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1e00, size=0x16eb71]
    initrd /initrd @ 0xff0c000, 0xe1013 bytes]
    Uncompressing Linux... Ok, booting the kernel.
    Red Hat nash version 5.0.32 starting
    Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

It then halts at this point and will not do anything else.