Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hi friends, I am completely new to linux and planning to install it. I have a fresh 80GB PATA HDD which is set as a primary slave using jumper setting. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Post Neewbie Questions

Hi friends,
    I am completely new to linux and planning to install it. I have a fresh 80GB PATA HDD which is set as a primary slave using jumper setting. There is another HDD installed as Primary Master of 40GB in which WinXP pro is installed.
    My questions are :

can I install FC5 Linux in the new 80GB HDD (Primary slave). And if I do will I get a choice of booting either in Win XP or Linux?

Should I install FC4 which I have ready in hand or take time to download and install FC5? If i install ver 4 will i get an option to update and make me less files to download?Or should I opt for some other Distro like ubuntoo?

Please understand that Linux is a completely new area for me so a little help with this silly questions will be gratly appreciated.

Thank you.

hi src2206 !!!

can I install FC5 Linux in the new 80GB HDD (Primary slave). And if I do will I get a choice of booting either in Win XP or Linux?
    yes !!! you will get a choice if you install GRUB ( boot loader properly ). during installation, it will ask "where to install boot loader ? " it SHOULD be installed in the MBR of master drive.
    well !! you have two drives... master is /dev/hda and slave is /dev/hdb... just click on /dev/hda... and make sure to plug in master ( having windows ) while installing FC5...

Should I install FC4 which I have ready in hand or take time to download and install FC5? If i install ver 4 will i get an option to update and make me less files to download?Or should I opt for some other Distro like ubuntoo