Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hello All, Can someone please explain to me what exactly I need to download and what to run/type/click to get GParted to work. I realise linux is nothing like windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10

    GParted


    Hello All,

    Can someone please explain to me what exactly I need to download and what to run/type/click to get GParted to work. I realise linux is nothing like windows but I dont know how to run it is there other things i need to download? I really need to format my hard drive so i can put windows xp back on it but i only have recovery cds so i cant boot from the cd and do an fdisk. Also linux is in my MBR what do i have to do to get rid of the MBR or clean it out. I have no idea how to use Fedora and im desperate to get xp back on my machine someone help please?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi tmns !!!

    you can download GParted from this link...

    http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...kage_id=173828

    you will get an .iso image.... burn this iso image on CD using Nero (windows) or K3B (linux)... you will get a bootable GParted CD....

    boot through this CD.... you will get a list of all the partitions... its graphical interface... you dont have to write any command....
    click on partition(s) and delete.......
    your harddisk is like brand new one.... ready to install......

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10
    hello,

    dont have any blank cds and wont for a few days anyway i can run this direct from linux?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi tmns !!

    on terminal type this command

    $ dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1

    you must be logged in as root...
    if you have SATA harddisk... use sda instead of hda....
    reboot your machine... Linux is gone and harddisk is ready for re-install....
    report back.....

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10
    no such luck...

    [root@localhost ~]# $dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1
    bash: if=/dev/zero: No such file or directory
    [root@localhost ~]# $ dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1
    bash: $: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# $ dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=512 count=1
    bash: $: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# $ dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1
    bash: $: command not found
    [root@localhost ~]# $dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1
    bash: if=/dev/zero: No such file or directory
    [root@localhost ~]# $dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=521 count=1
    bash: if=/dev/zero: No such file or directory
    [root@localhost ~]#



    what exactly will this do? will this let the restore cd copy files over? will it make the hard drive formated as nothing (no file system) because i dont know that it can copy the files over if there is no file sys. what about the MBR?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi tmns !!

    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1

    this command wipe away the partition table of the hard disk
    if you have 1 IDE hard disk , the primary master, hence /dev/hda )
    on reboot, all installation systems think that you have a brand new hard disk.

    this command should work..... try this command once again and reboot your system using windows cd...

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi tmns !!!

    do you have Fedora Installation CD ????
    boot from that CD and type on prompt :

    linux rescue

    you will get prompt again.....

    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10
    Hello,

    I fixed the problem, downloaded the UBCD and it fixed the lot, bye bye to Fedora Core 4. Sorry guys it just wasn't my cup of tea.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi tmns !!!

    well !! it happens sometimes... BUT you learned a lot of things... right !!!
    my suggestion...********
    if you ever wish to try again... dont install any OS... try LiveCds only... after a while, when you feel comfortable... move ahead......

    best of luck !!!!

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •