Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings from a newbie, lol Im having an issue with Red Hat Linux 7.3 detecting my modem. I am running a partitioned system with Windows XP and am using the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red Hat does not detect my modem

Greetings from a newbie, lol
    Im having an issue with Red Hat Linux 7.3 detecting my modem. I am running a partitioned system with Windows XP and am using the same Intel(R) 537EP V9x DF PCI Modem for both systems. However, when I boot up in Linux and attempt to create a connection, it says that no modem was found on my system. Im a newbie when it comes to networking with Linux, so I am not sure what to do. Windows XP is full of errors and Im sick of it constantly booting me for stupid things so Im trying to get Linux up and connected to the internet. Is there some special settings I have to change? Or do I have to manually input my modem port settings and the like? I have a nice thick book, but it only covers basic Linux/UNIX stuff and doesnt even touch networking. Thanks for the help!

RedHat 7.3 is quite an old distro, and i'm sure if its even supported by the redhat network anymore.

how about using a recent but lightweight distro like Zenwalk or VectorLinux, depending on what hardware you have. normaly the more recent the kernel in the distro, there will be less amount of manual configuration. in a recent distro i'm quite sure that modem will be auto detected.
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

Just Joined!