Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Can i Boot To Windows Xp If i install it with vmware? Heres the thing when i try to install it when i boot it says setup inspecintg your hardware ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Over There -------------->
    Posts
    14

    Can i Boot To Windows Xp If i install it with vmware?


    Can i Boot To Windows Xp If i install it with vmware?
    Heres the thing when i try to install it when i boot it says setup inspecintg your hardware configuration so i installed it with vmware can i boot off it?

    sorry, When i boot off cd to install it says inspecting your hardware configuration and then goes black and thats it.

  2. #2
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok wmware is a work station and you can run windows in it.I dont know if you can boot in windows but why did you install it with wmware?.I didn understand what you wanted to say with
    when i boot it says setup inspecintg your hardware configuration
    .

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Meatwad
    sorry, When i boot off cd to install it says inspecting your hardware configuration and then goes black and thats it.
    This is when you try to install XP in a VMware workstation running on Linux?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Over There -------------->
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Thrillhouse
    This is when you try to install XP in a VMware workstation running on Linux?
    No this is when i try to boot off cd before i boot into linux.

  5. #5
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    so why dont you wait that windows get your hardware configuration and than continue with setup

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Over There -------------->
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    so why dont you wait that windows get your hardware configuration and than continue with setup
    It Goes Black and stays black and thats it nothing else happens does it with 3 xp cd's all different and all 3 are good.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Over There -------------->
    Posts
    14
    And how do i uninstall FC5 it wont let me delete the partition.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi Meatwad !!

    And how do i uninstall FC5 it wont let me delete the partition.
    you can use HardDisk Utilities provided by your harddisk Manufacturer.. check their website
    or
    try GParted LiveCd (its 30 MB)... download .iso image and burn it to cd.. you will get a bootable cd.. boot up thru GParted and delete partition..

    http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...kage_id=125754

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •