Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: Is this a good question

Voters
2. You may not vote on this poll
  • no

    0 0%
  • yes

    0 0%
  • u should never have left your commadore 64

    0 0%
  • U might find more battlefield2 teamplay helpful

    0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi everyone, I ve had plenty of troubles installing liux and one by one its been coming together. Basically i originally had major problems with the sata drives. FC 5 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15

    Smile Fedora vs. Suse 10.1


    Hi everyone,

    I ve had plenty of troubles installing liux and one by one its been coming together. Basically i originally had major problems with the sata drives.

    FC 5 would not let me write to the boot rec of the win hd so i could choose which os to run . I had to go into the bios and select the linux drive as the boot drive. So that isnt so bad.

    I just installled SUSE 10.1 and it did everything better regarding this . i can now leave the bios alone and i am given the option when i turn on my pc ,which os i want to boot., If I choose linux it booots the sata drive .. Fantastic!

    I would really rather run fedora 5 but aNYHOW i'LL JUST HAVE A WINFIELD !

    suse LOOKED PRETTY COOL , even had more drivers available for everything in its setup. Still havent got my d-link wifi card going in suse either. But i will try a bit harder.

    When I have extracted a driver into my home directory and run the make or make clean command, will this then show up with all the other drivers available to use when selecting drivers ?

    Mick ?

  2. #2
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hi rigidig
    FC 5 would not let me write to the boot rec of the win hd so i could choose which os to run
    Did you install a bootloader?If you didnt you will not be able to choose betwen FC5 and windows.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15

    yes bootloader , was grub i guess , thats the boot loader?

    then i tried to reinstal the , recofigure grub and stioll no luck. But I will have another few goes at this. Sometimes i do things and do them again than it works.

  4. #4
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    Did You install GRUB on MBR(master boot record) of /dev/sda?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15

    umm now im not too sure on that.

    I thought this may have been a problem so ii tried changing therse options but every change i made , when i click 'go on do it' whatever i was trying i got ythe
    message "Warning no kernels written, no changes made' now you need to reeboot ! So i was about to have a valium so i just quit trying

  6. #6
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    reinstalling GRUB may fix the problem
    check this link http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...b-problem.html

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15

    Smile thx again janman

    i will follow the yellow brick road and let you know in next couple of the days and report on the defcon war status of my private linux war on windows

    thanks for your reinforcments

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie Pythagoras's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    205

    Cool

    Try this:
    dd if=/dev/sda of=/home/your_name/bootsect.lnx size=512 count=1
    Then copy this file to your windows partition and add this line to boot.ini:
    "Fedora Core 5"=C:\bootsect.lnx
    If you do this you will be able to run grub from windows loader menu.
    2b|!2b, that is the question

    If substraction add to multiplication you will get a division.

    GDB has a 'break' feature. Why doesn't it have a 'fix' too?

    Registered Linux User #437662

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •