Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hopefully someone can help with this. Like many here I am new to Linux and am using FC5 and have Apache running on it. My objective is to create a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

vsftp setup for apache

Hopefully someone can help with this.

Like many here I am new to Linux and am using FC5 and have Apache running on it. My objective is to create a test environment for websites but I can't figure out how to get the security set up correctly to allow me to ftp files directly to the server from my development machine.

So far I have created a username of ftpguy and can connect to the ftp server (vsftp) with this ID fine. It dumps me in the home directory /home/ftpguy but I can't change to /var/www/html to post files. I also created a group called webpostr and changed the group ownership of /var/www/html then put a symbolic link in the /home/ftpguy directory to /var/www/html. I still can't change to this folder from ftp (I can logged in as root). Do I also need to change the permissions to the /var directory? I a bit afraid to mess with that because I don't want to hose the system.

Hopefully I explained that well enough, I am used to the Microsoft model on shares where you just assign permissions the folder etc. The unix security is still confusing to me.

I have been fighting with this quite a bit and any links with info for doing this would be appriecated. I update websites via ftp and just want to duplicate that setup on my Fedora box.

Thanks in advance.

Steve H.

Linux Enthusiast
    I accomplish what you seek using Samba. Create a new share for /var/www/html and make sure that you force user = root and you will be able to copy and paste HTML docs in this directory - bypassing the need and headache of ftp. This is the way I set up all of my Apache servers and it works like a charm.

Linux Enthusiast
    Here is a snippit of my smb.conf to be used as a reference: