Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I've installed NTFS package and when I work as root, it's fine. But if I switch to another user, I can't acces my NTFS partition (FAT32 is OK)....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6

    NTFS works only for root


    I've installed NTFS package and when I work as root, it's fine. But if I switch to another user, I can't acces my NTFS partition (FAT32 is OK).

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !!!

    check your /etc/fstab file....
    for NTFS... umask should be 0

    /dev/hdax /mnt/ntfs_mountpoint ntfs ro,defaults,umask=0 0 0


    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    12
    hi,
    i also have the same problem which 'kvafy' said.

    i addition i have another problem.

    i used this file kernel-module-ntfs-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5-2.1.26-0.rr.10.0.i686.rpm

    from linux-ntfs.org to mount my c-drive(NTFS partition in my linux)

    how to load my FAT32 partition in linux??? i already loaded my ntfs partition in my linux and it shows my c drive of windows(c drive is ntfs partition)

    i want my d drive(FAT32 partition) to also showup in my linux. how can i do it.

    my windows partition is loaded in

    /mount/windows directory

    but its read-only .

    im unable to create a directory d-drive inside it.

    please help me how to load both my C drive(NTFS) and D drive(FAT32) in linux.

    please help

    thanks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi ravifrequent !!!

    you can't write in NTFS ... Linux has read only support for NTFS. there are a few third party packages which allow to write in NTFS, but i wont recommend those.. they are "use at your own risk"

    regarding FAT32... you can READ and WRITE.....

    create a folder in media ...

    $ mkdir /media/windows_d

    edit /etc/fstab file and add this line....

    /dev/hda5 /media/windows_d vfat rw,defaults,umask=0 0 0

    press enter after adding this line.....
    save and reboot....
    your FAT32 ( D drive of windows ) will be in /media/windows_d



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined! studio512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    19

    no need to reboot

    jus addin some extra info to wht casper, has said.

    once u've followed the instructions given by casper, just use mount instead of rebooting.

    like, in this case its : mount /media/windows_d

    cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •