Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
I'm new to Linux. Very new. I at one point had RedHat 7 discs and ran it on an old 300mhz computer once or twice. My interest in Linux was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Installation Issues with Fedora 6

I'm new to Linux. Very new. I at one point had RedHat 7 discs and ran it on an old 300mhz computer once or twice.

My interest in Linux was sparked again when I came across Fedora....I downloaded the Fedora 6 x86_64 DVD image, and burnt an installation boot disc....

Next, I ran the installer...

When it searched for previous installations of Fedora, it gave me "could not find *insert directory here*" messages...4 or 5 of them. I cancelled out of each of them, and was presented with the option of where to put Fedora.

I chose to use my 40gb slave hard disk. I had it remove all partitions and create the default layout.

The installation ran through in what seemed to be an ok manner.....

To test the installation I went into my BIOS and disabled the master harddrive (Windows XP boots off of it), and this left the slave drive as the only drive available.......

"Error Loading Operating System" was the error I received. I checked the disk under windows, and it is a RAW file system. Inaccessible by Windows.

Did my installation do something wrong? Or is the issue present because of me trying to load Fedora off of a Slave drive?

Thanks.

PS: I'm currently downloading a Fedora 5 image to burn and try.

If all else fails, my next stop is Gentoo!.

Are you trying to install FC6 onto an old 300mhz computer? Likely won't work.
    Did you know you downloaded 64bit ISO? Is your PC 64 bit?

Error Loading Operating System
    Did you install grub to the master boot record? If so, disabling the master will disable grub too.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.