Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I know this seems trivial, but I'm having a difficult time installing firefox for Red Hat Linux, and I can't seem to figure it out from the previous forum postings. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19

    Question Properly Install Firefox


    I know this seems trivial, but I'm having a difficult time installing firefox for Red Hat Linux, and I can't seem to figure it out from the previous forum postings.

    When I go to the mozilla website, I download the latest Linux release of firefox (1.5.7). When I untar the tgz file, I do not get an RPM but instead a firefox folder that has all of the binaries and libraries lumped together. I know this isn't best *nix convention.

    Can anyone enlighten me on the proper way to do this?

    Thanks,
    j0rd4n

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Which Linux are you using? FC5?
    When I untar the tgz file, I do not get an RPM but instead a firefox folder that has all of the binaries and libraries lumped together.
    there should be an INSTALL file for you to read in that directory.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19
    I'm embarrassed to admit I don't know which version I'm using (my admin gave me the latest version compatible with our software). Is there a command line command I can run to get that information. When I check the firefox install directory, I have a readme.txt file that says I need to go to http://getfirefox.com/releases for install information. When I go to that link, I don't get much information. Mozilla's website says to simply extract the tarbal to get the application folder.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    at the command line type:

    uname -a

    that will at least give your kernel version
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by easuter
    at the command line type:

    uname -a

    that will at least give your kernel version
    In that case, I get 2.4.21-40.ELsmp. How do I determine which version of distribution I have? I have an x-server running so I can use that too if need be.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hI !

    double click on firefox binary file in 'firefox' folder.... see if firefox window pops up....
    you dont have to configure or make anything for firefox. its pre-configured... just double click on 'firefox' file.........

    if it works then create a symlink(shortcut) on Desktop for firefox...

    ln -sf <path of firefox file> /home/user_name/Desktop/FireFox


    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    you're probably using RedHat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

    just follow what casper said, but you should be able to install firefox without having to manualy download it. are you using a business computer?
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19
    Yes, it is a business computer, but the Linux partition is mine to experiment with.

    Yes, I can get firefox to run properly, however, it was my understanding that normally linux applications are spread out into different directories (binaries in one place, libraries in another, etc.). Where should I put firefox? Just leave it as is?

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    HI !!

    Where should I put firefox? Just leave it as is?
    you can keep it as it is.... if you ask me where i store these kinda softwares ... ? i created a separate folder in my home folder. all extracted packages and new versions are stored in that.

    there are a few packages which comes preconfigured... firefox is one of them... you dont have to do anything. extract, create symlink and use......




    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    HI !!



    you can keep it as it is.... if you ask me where i store these kinda softwares ... ? i created a separate folder in my home folder. all extracted packages and new versions are stored in that.

    there are a few packages which comes preconfigured... firefox is one of them... you dont have to do anything. extract, create symlink and use......

    .... casper ....
    Okay, this at least gives me a peace of mind. Would /usr/share/apps be a bad place?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •