Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am pretty tech savvy, but a newbie when it comes to Linux. I mostly work with Windows since I am a programmer for a retail software product that runs ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7

    Trouble with Fedora Install


    I am pretty tech savvy, but a newbie when it comes to Linux. I mostly work with Windows since I am a programmer for a retail software product that runs on Windows.

    I figured I would check out linux anyway, and learn some stuff.

    I downloaded Fedora Core 5 (newest build) x86 version.

    I am using a Compaq PC which has 2 HDs in it. The primary drive runs Windows XP, and the secondary drive is partitioned into 4 parts. One part has Vista RC1 on it, one has Redhat on it, and the other 2 are blank (one is awaiting Suse 10.1 once I get this problem worked out)

    So anyway, thats the setup.

    The problem I am having is that

    1) During the installation of the OS, The resolution was very bad (640x480) I couldn't see half the screens, and I had to use F12 to navigate through because I couldn't see the buttons, and I couldn't move the windows. Is there anyway to set the resolution? Do I need to load a driver or something? Its an intel graphics chipset on the board.

    2) After the isntall I was able to at least change the resolution to 800x600 (not great, but better) and right away the OS told me there were a bunch of updates (around 150) to install. So I did that, but then after it was done and the system rebooted, all I get is a black screen, and the mouse pointer icon is an X. I have 2 different core versions in the boot loader, and tried both of them, but they both do the same thing.

    Any ideas?

    Remember I am a linux beginner, so please give me as much info as possible.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    HI !

    your both problems are related to Monitor Resolution. in GRUB screen, select Fedora Title. Press 'e' and add 3 at the end of line and boot up. 3 is for text mode. login as root.

    vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    press 'i'

    look for Section Screen
    Default Depth should be 24
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Device		"Generic Video Card"
    	Monitor		"Generic Monitor"
    	DefaultDepth	24
    and add resolution 1024x768 in SubSection "Display" having Depth 24

    Code:
    SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		24
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    after editing, press Esc key and : x (full colon + x )

    reboot and check if you get proper GUI



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    thanks for the help.

    I got as far as hitting e to edit the boot item, and there are 3 selections in that menu

    root (hd1,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2699.fc6 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.18-1.2699.fc6.img

    where exactly do I add a 3 to boot to text mode?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    add 3 at the end of 'kernel' line.



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for keeping with me.

    Ok I have gotten into the file, and depth is set to 24

    I added the subsection just as you said, however when I hit :x it tells me the file is read only and to add ! to override

    so when I do
    :x! it tells me E212 Can't open file for writing

    any ideas?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you should be logged in as root.
    well ! if you are logged in as normal user then type

    su - (its minus sign)
    it will ask for root password.

    now edit xorg.conf file.



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thanks, yeah I logged on as the user ID I created, not root (still new to all of this)

    Changed to root, and was able to edit the file, however the problem with the black X cursor still exists...

    I can't do anything when I boot normally, and this all happened after I installed the updates that the system autoupdated...

    Should I just try a reinstall of the OS?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up in textmode again. login as normal user and on prompt type 'startx'.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    7
    thanks casper, that worked.

    But now how do I go about figuring out what is wrong when I boot normally?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    check error messages in the log file

    dmesg | less



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •