Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have been using linux recreationally for some time now, since the days of Red Hat 9. I saw the conception of Fedora Core and the subsequent versions (only of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Horrible Install Problem FC6

I have been using linux recreationally for some time now, since the days of Red Hat 9. I saw the conception of Fedora Core and the subsequent versions (only of which I have used 1,4 and now trying 6). For the life of me, I can not get this or any install of FC6 to work. I just built my computer not to long ago (2 months maybe)(being the tech guy I am). My roomate built his about 6 months ago. Neither of us can get it running but another guy in my dorm (yes, I am a college student, senior, finally) can get it running without a hitch on his older system.

I have:
    2.8GHz Celeron processor
    Gigabyte GA-945p-S3 motherboard
    1gb ram
    Samsung 250gb Sata hdd
    80gb WD hdd attached to a Syba Ultra ATA IDE contoller card
    40gb WD external portable usb hdd

This should be the important stuff.
    I am trying to install onto xfs if possible. I first tried to install FC6 (hencefore may be refered to simply as linux) on the 250 first. I have a 180gb windows install that i'd rather not move and a 20gb Mac OS X 10.4.4 install that I don't want to touch (it works, so I won't "fix" it). This leaves me roughly 50gb to play with, but well after the 1024 cylinder and still very far down the partition line. This gave no results, the first error I had was "Grub geom error". Used my windows XP Pro disc to "fixmbr" and got my old bootloader back. Figured i'd install it on the usb drive, so I used "linux xfs expert". Got it on the usb drive. Still, installed grub. No error, just a hang on "Grub_" and nothing. Tryed to reinstall, to no avail. Figured I'd install to the 80gb ide drive. I've tried that twice now.