Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am a complete newbie to Linux and just wanted to know if it is possible to install windows .exe programs onto linux I have been trying vlc player ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie here

Hi,
    I am a complete newbie to Linux and just wanted to know if it is possible to install windows .exe programs onto linux I have been trying vlc player and just cant get my head around it??
    Thanks,
    J

Quote Originally Posted by j2dab
    Hi,
    I am a complete newbie to Linux and just wanted to know if it is possible to install windows .exe programs onto linux I have been trying vlc player and just cant get my head around it??
    Thanks,
    J

This thread should help, particularly the section titled "Linux is not Windows":

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ead-first.html

As for your question, simply speaking you cannot run MS Windows EXE files in Linux unless you use some sort of extra software meant as a go-between. Examples of this are the WINE Project.

The real question you need to ask yourself is this: is there a native Linux program that does the same thing? In the case of VLC Player, there are two answers. Yes, there are other programs that do that same thing, but there is also a native Linux version of that particular player available here:

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

To learn how to install it, read the "How to Install Software" thread in the link I posted above, or read the instructions on the VLC page.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Also...

If you're trying to use VLC, I'm assuming that you're trying to play music and/or video files on your Linux box.

I'm also assuming that, because you're using the 'RedHat/Fedora forum' that you're using Fedora Core.