Find the answer to your Linux question:
hello i am a complete newbie to linux, but i do know some things about computers. my problem is that after trying out a dual boot session with Fedora / ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Uninstalling Linux

hello

i am a complete newbie to linux, but i do know some things about computers.
    my problem is that after trying out a dual boot session with Fedora / Suse, i wanted to re-format the Linux partitions.
    i did it from within windows using Partition-Magic.
    after the format, the system didnt find the GRUB (of course...), therefore i couldnt also load up windows XP.

now i have reinstalled my PC, and im willing to try out Fedora 6, but i want to know how to avoid the above in case i want to remove it.

thanks

If you have some unallocated space following your new XP install, you can install Fedora on there and a dual-boot will automatically be set up by GRUB. Then, if you want to get rid of Fedora, you can use Partition Magic to remove it. If you have a Windows/Linux dual boot set up, it is a whole lot easier to have Windows installed first.

Just Joined!
    but i did have windows XP first..
    this is the steps i have done:

i had an XP.
    used PM to partition EXT to the linux installation
    install linux (all went great, GRUB was working perfectly).
    then, as you said, i formated the EXT partition to get rid of Fedora.

but then, since GRUB wasnt found, i couldnt also load windows...

It happened to me too, but I managed to pull it off. I use Suse10.0 and have Xp home and pro, then Suse. Here's what I did to solve my problem, I reinstall the Suse because you need the grub from it and then I went to the YAsT and changed the bootloader so that Grub won't be the bootloader anymore and from there u could earse it. Hope this helps