Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi everyone, I have a server with FC 5 I am just setting up at my home and I am trying to get Samba to work with my windows machine. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12

    Samba is not working


    Hi everyone,

    I have a server with FC 5 I am just setting up at my home and I am trying to get Samba to work with my windows machine.

    The following error is happening:

    When I try to restart
    Code:
    [root@localhost samba]# /etc/init.d/smb restart
    Shutting down SMB services:                                [FAILED]
    Shutting down NMB services:                                [  OK  ]
    Starting SMB services:                                     [FAILED]
    Starting NMB services:                                     [  OK  ]
    Error in the Samba event log
    Code:
    [2006/11/16 17:09:47, 0] smbd/server.c:main(847)
      smbd version 3.0.23c-1.fc5 started.
      Copyright Andrew Tridgell and the Samba Team 1992-2006
    [2006/11/16 17:09:47, 0] param/loadparm.c:service_ok(2935)
      WARNING: No path in service printers - making it unavailable!
    [2006/11/16 17:09:47, 1] param/loadparm.c:service_ok(2942)
      NOTE: Service printers is flagged unavailable.
    smbd: symbol lookup error: smbd: undefined symbol: cupsLangDefault
    I am no pro at Linux, this is only the second time I have set this up. Any help with this would be awesome

    -Rob

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12
    I fixed my problem by updating CUPS, but now I get this error when I browse to the server from a windows machine:
    Code:
    You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network.  Go to system in control Panel to change the computer name and try again.
    Any Ideas??

    -Rob

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cambridge UK
    Posts
    1
    You haven't made any silly mistakes like choosing the same name have you (I've done it in the past without thinking) Also does Samba work if you use IP?

    What about
    Code:
    smbclient -L <hostname> -U <username>
    from your local account?

    Is SELinux running? That can play merry heck with Samba.
    Code:
    vi /etc/sysconfig/selinux

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12
    Now I got it to work to were I can see the machine, but when I try to access it, it tels me that it is not accessible and network path is not found.


    Anyone willing to SSH into it and take it for a spin??

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    I will ssh in and give it a spin ,but first do you have a smbpsswd file in your /etc/samba

    when you added the users to yoru samba box did you pass the -a

    smbpsswd -a user

    the -a is needed.

    If not do that and try it again.
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by adrenaline
    I will ssh in and give it a spin ,but first do you have a smbpsswd file in your /etc/samba

    when you added the users to yoru samba box did you pass the -a

    smbpsswd -a user

    the -a is needed.

    If not do that and try it again.
    I have had no luck still. I have added that user to both Samba and made sure it is in Linux it self.

    I also heard from someone to turn off selinux but I am not sure what that is or how to do it.

    -Rob

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by offnetrob
    I have had no luck still. I have added that user to both Samba and made sure it is in Linux it self.

    I also heard from someone to turn off selinux but I am not sure what that is or how to do it.

    -Rob
    I just got it working. I read up on the SELinux thing and disabled it. Samba and notebooks work fine!

    Thanks everyone for your help!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •