Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hallo Users, I tried to install Fedora Core 6 on a Dell Optiplex GX620 with a pre installed WindowsXP. The machine has 2 HDD with 2 partitions on the first ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7

    WindowsXP/Fedora Core 6 Dual-Boot on Dell Optiplex GX620


    Hallo Users,

    I tried to install Fedora Core 6 on a Dell Optiplex GX620 with a pre installed WindowsXP. The machine has 2 HDD with 2 partitions on the first one. The first partition is used by Dell's utilities and the second partition is used by WindowsXP.

    I inserted the Fedora Core 6 DVD and installation runs to the end. I have used a standard installation for partitions and have configured the grub with standard boot os = WindowsXP.

    When I boot the machine after successfully installation their is no grub bootloader or another bootloader (menu) for an os selection. I have tried to insert an entry for the linux installation in the boot.ini file of WindowsXP, but I get the message that their is no OS at the partition.

    Can anyone help me! I haven't take a look in the utilities partition used by Dell, so I can't tell how is this partition used.

    Thanks in Advanced.

    Regards.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    During the install, did you tell Fedora to install the bootloader (GRUB) on the Master Boot Record or the first sector of the Linux partition? I *think* the MBR is the default option, but I could be mistaken.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    I don't remember exactly. Shame on me. But I think I have nothing changed of the default settings only the standard boot os to WindowsXP.

    I can't access to the machine because the PC is in my office and I am at home.

    Is it possible to fix this with a "repair installation"?

    Regards

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by master-blaster2000
    Is it possible to fix this with a "repair installation"?

    Regards
    Are we talking about the Fedora "repair installation" or the Dell "repair installation"?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    I think we have to talk about the fedora repair installation. I think the WindowsXP part works. I wan't repeat the part with the bootloader and the exact position of the grub.

    Remember:

    /dev/sda1 -> Dell Utils
    /dev/sda2 -> Windows XP

    /dev/sdb -> parted by Fedora

    I think

    /dev/sdb1 -> /boot
    /dev/sdb2 -> LVM with the standard fs

    So where must grub be placed to work as bootloader.
    I dont know what is in the first partition of sda.

    Regards.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Oh, ok. So you've left your XP harddrive completely untouched and installed Fedora on the second drive? That's usually the safest way to dual-boot in my opinion. In this case you want to make sure that GRUB gets installed on the Master Boot Record of your main drive (/dev/sda where XP in installed). Note I said in the MBR, *not* in the first partition. That wouldn't work and would hose your Dell utilities partition (/dev/sda1).
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    OK, I will try it again tomorrow in the office.

    I will give you a report what happens tomorrow.

    Thanks for You techieMoe.

    Regards.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Hallo Users,

    I hope You have a nice day

    I have tried again the installation of my FC6. Without any effect.
    I have the feeling that FC6 won't write the GRUB to the MBR on
    /dev/sda.

    When I load the FC-rescue system and

    > chroot /mnt/sysimage

    I tried to install the grub by hand like

    > grub-install /dev/sda

    I get the message:
    /dev/sdb1 does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.

    > grub-install /dev/sdb

    replies
    /dev/sdb does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.

    Take a look at the difference in the first message sda <-> sdb1.

    Does anybody knows what this message mean.

    BTW in the Dell are two SATA drives and two DVDs installed.

    Regards.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by master-blaster2000
    I get the message:
    /dev/sdb1 does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.
    > grub-install /dev/sdb
    replies
    /dev/sdb does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.
    this is coz of wrong entry in device.map file.

    two ways... either edit grub.conf, device.map and fstab files OR re-install FC.
    i would suggest you re-install......

    Un-plug Windows HardDisk and plug-in Linux HardDisk as Primary Master.
    install Fedora and accept default options in 'boot loader' section. a few necessary packages are not installed by default. check this link. those packages have nothing do with GRUB or Dual Boot though.

    after installation, boot up Fedora and Log in as 'root'. open /boot/grub/grub.conf file.
    add this code at the end of file.
    Code:
    title Windows XP
    rootnoverify (hd1,1)
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1
    now open /boot/grub/device.map file and add
    Code:
    (hd1) /dev/sdb
    shutdown machine and Plug-in Windows HardDisk as Secondry. keep Linux HardDisk plugged-in as Primary Master. Switch ON..........





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    OK casper,

    that was it!!!

    I have changed the both SATA2-drives, installed the FC6 and then edited the /boot/grub/grub.conf. The file device.map seems correct

    (hd0) /dev/sda
    (hd1) /dev/sdb

    But I don't know what the map entry in the grub.conf exactly meen?

    At the boot-sequence I get now the message

    ata2: port is slow to respond, please be patient
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: port failed to respond (30 secs)
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: SRST failed (status 0xFF)
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: SRST failed (err_mask=0x100)
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: softreset failed, retrying in 5 secs
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: SRST failed (status 0xFF)
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: SRST failed (err_mask=0x100)
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: softreset failed, retrying in 5 secs
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: SRST failed (status 0xFF)
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: SRST failed (err_mask=0x100)
    Nov 29 07:08:06 ws5931 kernel: ata2: reset failed, giving up

    Does anybody know what this mean.

    I wish all of You a nice day.

    Regards.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •