Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Guys, Please i need help installing softwares on my FC6 (I am totally new to Linux). Kernel: 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6xen GUI: Gnome I will describe my problems. First of all i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dependencies Problems

Hello Guys,
    Please i need help installing softwares on my FC6 (I am totally new to Linux).
    Kernel: 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6xen GUI: Gnome

I will describe my problems. First of all i don't have internet connected to the FC6, so i can't use “yum install ...” i need to use “yum localinstall ...”.
    I use my XP to download rpms and tar.gzip to get the software i need.
    For instance i need to read chm files on FC6 so i downloaded chmlib , pychm and Gnochm
    chmlib is a prerequisite to pychm and in its turn pychm is a prerequisite to Gnochm when i try to install them i keep hitting the Missing dependencies Error, and this problem keeps repeating itself for almost every package i need to install. This problem is getting on my nerves how can i resolve these dependencies without going totally insane. And about compiling source codes “tar.gz ...” (which often constitute a library or a dependency) i use the following as it is said inside the installation instruction included in the package. I type:
    ./configure
    make
    make install
    Even after compiling & installing it, the rpm -ivh command and yum localinstall cannot resolve dependencies

Thank you very much guys. I really tried everything available and search almost every forum entry and HOWTO available out there to resolve this issue but no success so i posted this thread.

This is an example:

[root@localhost Yahya]# yum localinstall chmlib-0.38-2.i386.rpm pychm-0.8.4-2fc5.i386.rpm gnochm-0.9.9-1fc5.noarch.rpm
    Loading "installonlyn" plugin
    Setting up Local Package Process
    Examining chmlib-0.38-2.i386.rpm: chmlib - 0.38-2.i386