Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
Hi AlexK, Yes i have found some articles about wpa_supplicant and have tried it myself but to no avail. It gives me this error: Code: /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 13: syntax error ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    54

    Hi AlexK,

    Yes i have found some articles about wpa_supplicant and have tried it myself but to no avail.

    It gives me this error:

    Code:
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 13: syntax error near unexpected token `}'
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 13: `}'
    
    Determining IP information for eth1... failed; no link present.  Check cable?
    My wpa_supplicant.conf looks like this:

    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    ap_scan=1
    update_config=1
    
    network={
    ssid="asnet"
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    proto=WPA
    pairwise=TKIP
    psk="myNetworkPassword"
    #disabled
    }
    What is wrong there?
    Please help, thanks.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Try deleting the last line i.e. get rid of #disabled
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    54
    Thanks for the quick reply,

    I deleted that line

    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    ap_scan=1
    update_config=1
    
    network={
    ssid="asnet"
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    proto=WPA
    pairwise=TKIP
    psk="myNetworkPassword"
    }
    The error is the same, except the line number of cos..

    Code:
      wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 12: syntax error near unexpected token `}'
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 12: `}'
    
    Determining IP information for eth1... failed; no link present.  Check cable?

  4. #14
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    the only difference between your wpa_supplicant.conf and mine is that I don't have a line called proto and also I have a line called priority (just for backgrounding the setup of connection). Anyway just for comparison purposes I am pasting my wpa_supplicant.conf file below.

    Quote Originally Posted by mt wpa_supplicant.conf
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    ap_scan=1
    update_config=0
    fast_reauth=1

    network={
    ssid="MySSID"
    psk="MySuperSecretPassword"
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=TKIP CCMP
    group=TKIP CCMP
    priority=5
    }
    It works just fine on this end.

    Also does ifconfig and iwconfig return "normal" entries for eth1?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    54
    I modified my wpa_supplicant.conf to be like this

    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    ap_scan=1
    update_config=0
    fast_reauth=1
    
    network={
    ssid="asnet"
    psk="myNetworkPassword"
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=TKIP CCMP
    group=TKIP CCMP
    priority=5
    }
    It gives me this:

    Code:
     wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 11: CCMP: command not found
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 12: CCMP: command not found
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 14: syntax error near unexpected token `}'
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 14: `}'

    Therefore i remove this :
    Code:
    pairwise=TKIP CCMP
    group=TKIP CCMP
    And it gives me this:
    Code:
      wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 12: syntax error near unexpected token `}'
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 12: `}'
    Whats with the syntax error problem? Can't it give more detail error of whats going on?

    I'm so out of luck

    ifconfig eth1:
    Code:
    eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:12:F0:B0:74:D7
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:153118 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:21306 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
              Interrupt:58 Base address:0x8000 Memory:90306000-90306fff
    iwconfig eth1:
    Code:
    Warning: Driver for device eth1 has been compiled with version 20
    of Wireless Extension, while this program supports up to version 19.
    Some things may be broken...
    
    eth1      unassociated  ESSID:"asnet"  Nickname:"qin-jacky"
              Mode:Managed  Channel=0  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Bit Rate:0 kb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=8/0
              Retry limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:5679-5734-3473-6471-0000-0000-00   Security mode:open
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    I'm not sure why it says that something is broken, i'm always able to connect to WEP networks, even now.

  6. #16
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    for wpa_supplicant.conf, what happens if you delete the last } ?

    As for the wireless broken warning. In some cases it can be a problem, I would suggest you get the latest wireless-tools package installed from your distro's mirrors or even better, compile wireless-tools version 20.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    54
    AlexK, finally i managed to get my wireless to work with my WPA wireless network.

    However there are still some hiccups. I couldn't succeed when using system-config-network.
    I noticed that whenever i click "Activate" in system-config-network on a wireless device, it executes the script "/sbin/ifup". But due to unknown reasons, it throws that stupid syntax error!!

    I did this instead:

    1. open a 2 konsoles as root
    2. in the first konsole, run "ifup eth1"

    3. quickly, in a another konsole run "wpa_supplicant -Dwext -ieth1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf"

    voila..

    Code:
    example:
      wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 12: syntax error near unexpected token `}'
    /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf: line 12: `}'
    
    Determining IP information for eth1... done.

    Code:
    Trying to associate with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a (SSID='asnet' freq=0 MHz)
    Trying to associate with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a (SSID='asnet' freq=0 MHz)
    Associated with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a
    WPA: Key negotiation completed with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a [PTK=TKIP GTK=TKIP]
    CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a completed (auth)
    WPA: Group rekeying completed with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a [GTK=TKIP]
    CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
    Trying to associate with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a (SSID='asnet' freq=0 MHz)
    Trying to associate with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a (SSID='asnet' freq=0 MHz)
    Associated with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a
    WPA: Key negotiation completed with 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a [PTK=TKIP GTK=TKIP]
    CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:12:17:ff:4d:8a completed (reauth)
    my wpa_supplicant.conf:

    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel
    ap_scan=1
    update_config=0
    fast_reauth=1
    
    network={
    ssid="asnet"
    psk="myNetworkPassword"
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    priority=5
    }

    Does anyone here knows how to fix that /sbin/ifup scripts?


    Oh ya, i checked the wireless-tools package in rpmfind.net. The package is available for fc3 and fc4 only. Dare not take the risk to install in my fc5 though. Thanks a lot.

  8. #18
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Quote Originally Posted by jinchuriki
    Does anyone here knows how to fix that /sbin/ifup scripts?
    I would suggest you try the wpa startup/stop script roughly half way down this page
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by AlexK
    I would suggest you try the wpa startup/stop script roughly half way down this page
    Thanks for all the help AlexK, i'll give that a shot.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    Fecora Core 6, Wireless Security

    I'm an absolute newbie to Linux and my aim over time is to move all my 4 home network PCs off Windoze. I have had FC6 installed for me on one of my PCs and I am very impressed with the disribution.
    I've followed the above thread and although I can get wireless to work when I set my router to No Encryption I really want to continue with encryption set as follows.
    TKIP
    WPA-PSK (Previously Shared Key):

    I'd very much appreciate a dummies guide how to do this.

    Many thanks in advance

    Mike

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •