Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
I dont think that would help. once try my previous suggestion and tell me the result.....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vijayawada,INDIA
    Posts
    56

    I dont think that would help.
    once try my previous suggestion and tell me the result..

  2. #12
    Just Joined! thewhitefedora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tennessee - United States of America
    Posts
    52
    Go to System>Administration>Network
    Tell us what you see in the white box

    Also go to Applications>Accessories>Terminal
    type su
    enter the password for root when it prompts you to.

    type ifconfig
    tell us what it says

    type iwconfig
    tell us what it says

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by thewhitefedora
    Go to System>Administration>Network
    Tell us what you see in the white box
    Nothing in the white box
    Also go to Applications>Accessories>Terminal
    type su
    enter the password for root when it prompts you to.
    when i type su in the terminal nothing happens. it just goes to the next line
    type ifconfig
    [root@localhost ~]# su

    [root@localhost ~]# su

    [root@localhost ~]# iconfig
    bash: iconfig: command not found

    [root@localhost ~]# ifconfig

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback

    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0

    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host

    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1

    RX packets:1834 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

    TX packets:1834 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0

    RX bytes:2999539 (2.8 MiB) TX bytes:2999539 (2.8 MiB)

    tell us what it says

    type iwconfig
    when i type iwconfig:

    lo no wireless extensions.
    sit0 no wirelsss extensions

    tell us what it says
    .................................................. ...........

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vijayawada,INDIA
    Posts
    56
    su means super user..
    when you are logged in as another user other than root you use this command to make yourself the super user(root)..

    By default one shouldn't prefer logging in as the root always..

    Since you are already the root its not giving out any result..
    if you are not.. it would have asked you the root password..

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    so does this help at all? again thanks for putting the effort in helping me!

  6. #16
    Just Joined! thewhitefedora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tennessee - United States of America
    Posts
    52
    Yes, thank you for running those commands.
    Could you give me either the name of your ethernet card or give me the make and model number of your computer?

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    Model of Card: 10/100/1000BaseT Ethernet RJ-45
    Computer:Compal Hel80
    http://www.powernotebooks.com/specs/PowerPro/l8-15.php

  8. #18
    Just Joined! thewhitefedora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tennessee - United States of America
    Posts
    52
    Thanks for the link!
    The actual name of your card is the Realtek RTL8168/8111
    I am currently researching the problem for you.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    18
    wow thank-you thewhitefedora! i never expected somone to go this great lengths to help me.

  10. #20
    Just Joined! thewhitefedora's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tennessee - United States of America
    Posts
    52
    Download this:
    ftp://202.65.194.18/cn/nic/r1000_v1.05.tgz
    and view the README file.
    This is an official driver released by Realtek.
    If you don't understand the readme, or need further help please come back and tell me, I'll do the best I can.
    Don't be upset if you have alot of trouble, this is a very difficult card to work with according to my research.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •