Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am a newbie to Linux but still want to learn more operations of red hat and other distros. I just installed Linux but made some mistakes on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How To change IP address of my redhat box

Hello all,
    I am a newbie to Linux but still want to learn more operations of red hat and other distros.

I just installed Linux but made some mistakes on the ip address settings of the box, hence I cant get any ping reply from my gateway as recommended by my ISP. Instead of putting the ip as 192.168.1.200, i went and typed 192.168.0.200 as my eth0.

My question is, how do i change the ip address of my eth0 to the correct one, and as well allow my other computers to access the internet, as I want to set the Linux as a router/gateway so that other computers can automatically get their addresses from the Linux box.

Links

http://linux.derkeiler.com/Mailing-L...5-02/0106.html

also try reading the man pages for ifconfig

Code:
    man ifconfig

Hi,
    And welcome to the forums.
    I suggest, since your a linux beginner, use the system-config-network tool.
    I know of two ways to launch it. Click on the Network tool from within the system menu or open a terminal and login as root
    Code:
    su -
    Then type
    Code:
    neat
    From there you can specify your own IP address, hostname and DNS settings.
    Just highlight the device you want to change (eth0) and select edit.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!
    Thanks Jamesthe4th,
    I tried the link u sent to the reply it works. I am happy that I can achieve it.