Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i have redhat linux-9 installed on my system.... recently i installed xmms pakage........ and it is working fine but i am not see any xmms shortcut to my desktop...... i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Shivamogga
    Posts
    8

    Question shortcut to desktop


    i have redhat linux-9 installed on my system....

    recently i installed xmms pakage........
    and it is working fine but i am not see any xmms shortcut to my desktop......
    i run the xmms through terminal .... using xmms command

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    to create a symlink on desktop. execute this
    Code:
    ln -sf ~/Desktop/Xmms  /usr/bin/xmms



    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    54

    desktop shtcut

    hey casper
    i tried this link.but it didnt worked in my RHEL 4 machine.also it uninstalled the xmms.now icant able to play the mp3 as it is saying that bad command.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    install xmms again and execute it in terminal/konsole. post error message if any. post the out of 'which xmms' too.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    54

    xmms problem

    hey
    now i cant able to even install or uninstall the package.while trying to install erroe is coming that it is already installed and while i am trying to uninstall error is that the software is not installed.wht to do.i am in trouble.pls help me

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the output of 'which xmms' command. type 'xmms' in terminal/konsole, post error if any.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    54
    by typing xmms in the console ,it is giving the error that command not found.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    excute this
    Code:
    yum -y install xmms xmms-mp3



    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •