Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
ye it is sata cheers ill keep that in mind because at the mo im running Dban......
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    ye it is sata cheers ill keep that in mind because at the mo im running Dban...

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    did you execute the code i posted above? replace hda with sda in 'dd' command and it will wipe everything.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    HI well actually i ended up using Dban and after about 3 hours i thought write ill install windows but im now getting this message
    1. FD 1.44mb System Type-(0F)

  4. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    where are you getting this message? did you execute 'dd' code? did you install Windows?









    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    i used Dban to wipe the HD then changed the 1st boot to CD then and put in windows xp and it says
    Boot from CD:
    1. FD 1.44mb System Type-(0F)

  6. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    try GParted CD and check partitions. you can also create partitions through it.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    Also ive just realised that the computer will only boot off my linux cd so at boot prompt i typed
    linux rescue
    and went to the shell from there i typed that command with "sda"
    if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=521 count=1
    i got this message
    1+0 records in

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    Also ive just realised that the computer will only boot off my linux cd so at boot prompt i typed
    linux rescue
    and went to the shell from there i typed that command with "sda"
    if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=521 count=1
    i got this message
    1+0 records in
    1+0 records out
    521 bytes (521 B) copied, 9.9176e-05 seconds, 5.3MB/s

  9. #19
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    1+0 records in
    1+0 records out
    'dd' command displays this message if you use wrong device name. do you really have SATA disk? whats the output of 'fdisk -l' command?






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    my bad yeh its hda not sda i was thinkin of my other pc.
    just tried
    if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1
    i got this message
    1+0 records in
    1+0 records out
    521 bytes (521 B) copied, 9.722e-05 seconds, 5.4MB/s

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •