Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
hi i have inserted a windows startup disk into my fc5 system and its put me in the grub what do i have to do/type to format the hard disc.......
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    Exclamation Formatting hd from grub


    hi i have inserted a windows startup disk into my fc5 system and its put me in the grub what do i have to do/type to format the hard disc....

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    select CDDRIVE as 'first boot device' in BIOS.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    Red face

    Its a floppy disc startup disk... isnt there a command in the grub for formatting the c:\

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs down Solomon Akbar Here...

    Hia,

    Download GParted Live CD And Burn It In A CD. Boot Your Computer Using That CD. That Will Take You At The Partition Manager. There You can Format
    Or Make Partition ... Then You Can Install Windows Or Anything...

    Please Let Me Know You If Soved Your Problem...

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    Unhappy

    1 problem i dont have any cds...and the pc thats working is new and didnt come with a floppydisk drive, the other 2 need there hd's formatting...

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs down Solomon Here

    Hi

    I Said To "Download" GetParted Iso File From Internet And Burn It On A CD.That Is The Cross Platform Partition Manager. That Enables Your Work Easier. Don't Hesitate Go For That. Floppy Drive Not Required!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    i know but i dont have access to any black cds at da mo...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    in case, you wanna *wipe* everything from HardDisk, no Data, no Partitions, nothing...
    boot up form Fedora Installation CD/DVD, execute this code at boot: prompt
    Code:
    linux rescue
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda bs=521 count=1
    this code will wipe everything and Windows Installation CD will work after executing that.




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30
    i typed in the linux rescue command and wento the shell and typed the rest of command but all did was say file copied or something so i tried just typing in the second (long) command at boot prompt without typing
    linux rescue
    and it said
    could not find kernel image: dd
    any thoughts......

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    do you have SATA harddisk?
    type 'linux rescue' at boot: prompt and press 'Enter' key. you will get prompt again after a while. execute this
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=521 count=1
    in case, it doesn't work, execute 'fdisk -l' command and post output here.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •