Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hi, I'm installing Fedore 6 on my pc and have run the install 3 times now. Every time when it's done it reboots and asks for a login and password, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    39

    Login after setup


    Hi,

    I'm installing Fedore 6 on my pc and have run the install 3 times now. Every time when it's done it reboots and asks for a login and password, I assume for a user account but I have never created one...

    dos screen:
    Hostname login:
    password:

    What should I fill in or where should I have created this during install???

    Thanx

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie PureGrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mt. Washington, Kentucky
    Posts
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamey758
    Hi,

    I'm installing Fedore 6 on my pc and have run the install 3 times now. Every time when it's done it reboots and asks for a login and password, I assume for a user account but I have never created one...

    dos screen:
    Hostname login:
    password:

    What should I fill in or where should I have created this during install???

    Thanx
    Did it not ask for a root password when you installed the system? Did you install from http/kickstart?
    LINUX - "The other white meat.."
    Registered Linux User #439112

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    Username is root, password is whatever you entered when it asked you for the root password.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    39
    When I enter root as username followed by my password it displays this:
    [root@Hostname ~]#

    and I still don't know what to do... at everything I type it sais -bash: command not found

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie PureGrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mt. Washington, Kentucky
    Posts
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamey758
    When I enter root as username followed by my password it displays this:
    [root@Hostname ~]#

    and I still don't know what to do... at everything I type it sais -bash: command not found
    Well to answer your original question. Your logged in.
    LINUX - "The other white meat.."
    Registered Linux User #439112

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast likwid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    649
    What exactly are you trying to accomplish? This is not dos, it is linux.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    39
    yes I know, doslike screen

    Uhm wel I want to acces the graphical OS that comes with Fedora...

    I installed Mandrake 10 before this which came with KDE

    Don't know what I've done wrong, I pretty much didn't change any of the install option at all. Should I run the installation again or is there a command I have to type in to acces the OS?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by PureGrain
    Well to answer your original question. Your logged in.
    ok, so how do I acces the OS now?

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie PureGrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Mt. Washington, Kentucky
    Posts
    154
    Ok, you have an OS. I think you just did not get what you wanted from your install. You can choose to add KDE at install along with X.

    http://www.kde.org/download/

    Go there to do a post install.
    LINUX - "The other white meat.."
    Registered Linux User #439112

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    39
    I'm new to this.... I have no idea what to download from the mirrors listed there... I'm looking for the latest kde in ISO format so I can put in the disc and install it... it this possible? and where do I get it?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •