Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
So I take it I have everyone stumped, because this happens regularly now and I can't find a solution. I'm thinking about switching to a different distro to see how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18

    So I take it I have everyone stumped, because this happens regularly now and I can't find a solution. I'm thinking about switching to a different distro to see how that works out.

  2. #12
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Croydon, PA
    Posts
    392
    Reading over everything an dI noticed you had upgraded from RH7 to FC6, correct?
    Then you reinstalled FC6?
    When you reinstalled did you remove all Linux partitions?
    Also it is recommended that when you go from one version to the next you do a fresh install and not an upgrade install.
    Good Luck,
    Ski
    RHCT

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    Correct. I had Red Hat 7. This was too out of date to run on the current hardware I'm using. So by recommendation, I downloaded FC 6, burned the images to disc and rebooted with the first disc in the drive.

    I chose to do a full (fresh) installation, and not an upgrade. The current volumes were formatted (with the exception of my windows partition for dual boot capabilities), and FC6 was installed fresh.

    The first run goes smoothly, but when I logout or reboot, I run into this problem.

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Croydon, PA
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by Peffe
    grub.conf:
    Code:
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,4)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core(2.6.18-1.2869.fc6)
             root (hd0,4)
             kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
             initrd /initrd-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6.img
    title Other
          rootnoverify (hd0,0)
          chainloader +1
    inittab:
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:
    
    si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
    
    10:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
    11:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
    12:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
    13:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
    14:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
    15:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
    16:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6
    
    ud::once:/sbin/update
    
    ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now
    
    pf::powerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"
    
    1:12345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
    2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
    3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
    4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
    5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
    6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6
    
    x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/X11/xdm -nodaemon

    Ok the above text x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/X11/xdm -nodaemon, see if you have a /usr/bin/X11 directory.
    If you do see if you have a program xdm in there.
    Get back to me with the answer.
    Good Luck,
    Ski
    RHCT

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    Ok Ski...here's what I did.

    1) I rebooted with the install disc so I could launch "linux rescue".
    2) chroot /mnt/sysimage
    3) cd usr
    4) cd bin
    5) Tried cd X11, but it said the directory doesn't exist

    So nope, I don't have X11 director in /usr/bin/

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie cybersmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    122

    Hmmm

    Me thinks that you are changing the hostname..

    If so, you need to change it in /etc/hosts AND /etc/sysconfig/network

    You can change it in network and it will change your hostname, but unless you change it also in hosts you Linux scripts will say "wait a minute, computer x is trying to start xterm, I dont have x on my list, ok block"

    Simply put, if you dont update the hostname in BOTH places you get errors out the wazu and you cant bring up your GUI.

    Cybersmurf
    The problem with developing something completely foolproof is underestimating the complete ingenuity of fools ~Unknown

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •