Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Greetings All. At the advice of another forum member, I upgraded from RH 7.2 (which is apparently ancient), to FC 6. The installation went very smoothly, and I was able ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18

    Exclamation Login Impossible


    Greetings All.

    At the advice of another forum member, I upgraded from RH 7.2 (which is apparently ancient), to FC 6.

    The installation went very smoothly, and I was able to reboot and log in (using the graphical log-on screen) to the desktop. I took an hour to learn the desktop environment and try and install an application. I shut down the system during my lunch break, and now I can't log back in.

    The graphical loading session works up until the actual log on screen, where I get dumped to the command line: localhost login:

    No matter what I type (a created account name or "root"), the command prompt never makes it to the password section.

    1) I type in root
    2) I hit enter
    3) There is a millisecond flash of the screen and I can barely make out the text "Login incorrect"
    4) I'm back at localhost login:
    5) After about 1 minute, my screen is spammed with this:

    Code:
    INIT: cannot execute "/usr/bin/X11/xdm"
    INIT: cannot execute "/usr/bin/X11/xdm"
    INIT: cannot execute "/usr/bin/X11/xdm"
    INIT: cannot execute "/usr/bin/X11/xdm"
    INIT: cannot execute "/usr/bin/X11/xdm"
    INIT: cannot execute "/usr/bin/X11/xdm"
    INIT: cannot execute "/usr/bin/X11/xdm"
    INIT: Id "x" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    Any suggestions or advice?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    this just means that the X server fails to start. switch to runlevel 3. in GRUB screen, select Fedora title and press 'e'. select 'kernel' line, press 'e' again and add <space> 3 at the end of line. press 'Enter' key and press 'b' to boot up. this will drop you on command line login prompt. log in as root. execute 'startx' command.
    if startx doesn't work, you should get some error messages which provide clues as to why it doesn't work.




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I tried your suggestion.

    1) Pressed 'e' at GRUB screen
    2) Selected kernel and pressed 'e'
    3) grub edit> kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 ro rooLABEL=/1 rhgb quiet 3 (put the 3 at the end of the line and pressed 'enter'
    4) Pressed 'b' to boot
    5) Same problem at login screen. I type the 'root' and press enter, and I get popped right back to the localhost login:

    I did manage to see one error during the boot process, but I don't know if it has any relation to this problem:

    Code:
    FATAL: Error inserting acpi_freq (libmodules2.6.8/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpicpufreq.ko: no such device
    Still can't log in though.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    add 'acpi=off' in kernel line and check if it works.







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    Right on, well, still having the same problem:

    I've tried:
    Code:
    grub edit> kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 ro rooLABEL=/1 rhgb quiet 3
    grub edit> kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 ro rooLABEL=/1 rhgb quiet acpi=off
    grub edit> kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 ro rooLABEL=/1 rhgb quiet 3 acpi=off
    None worked, although I don't get the FATAL error now, I still can't log in. I'm pretty stumped on this one

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Karachi,Pakistan
    Posts
    57
    with 'acpi=off' Change it back to 'init 5' and see if it works.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    I decided to try something. I reinstalled the OS, and played around with it for a while under a created user account that wasn't root. I logged out, and logged back on as root, but in the command prompt, and not Gnome. Did some stuff, rebooted, everything still worked fine.

    If I log on as root using graphical mode and reboot, I get the same problem. I read somewhere over the weekend about the possible problems that occur when logging on as root in graphical mode. I guess I found my problem, and am learning the proper etiquette for root usage. I haven't had the problem since remaining on my user account, taking advantage of 'sudo' command when I need it.

    Glad I'm at least learning from my mistakes. Thanks for the help, btw! The information helped me greatly.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    Spoke too soon....again...I avoided logging on as root at the graphical screen.
    Even when at the command prompt, I log on as a regular user and use 'su' to perform installations of software.....

    But the problem has come back...I tried 'acpi=off' and putting a '5' at the end of the kernel, but that seemed to exacerbate the problem.

    Anyone else have suggestions? Reinstalling Linux to fix this is probably not the way to go, and is getting quite tiresome.

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Croydon, PA
    Posts
    392
    Reboot in to single user mode and post the /etc/grub.conf and /etc/inittab files.
    Good Luck,
    Ski
    RHCT

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    grub.conf:
    Code:
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,4)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core(2.6.18-1.2869.fc6)
             root (hd0,4)
             kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
             initrd /initrd-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6.img
    title Other
          rootnoverify (hd0,0)
          chainloader +1
    inittab:
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:
    
    si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
    
    10:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
    11:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
    12:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
    13:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
    14:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
    15:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
    16:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6
    
    ud::once:/sbin/update
    
    ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now
    
    pf::powerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"
    
    1:12345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
    2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
    3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
    4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
    5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
    6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6
    
    x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/X11/xdm -nodaemon

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •