Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Hi all, I was previously using Windows XP and I added in a 2nd drive solely for Fedora 6 However, when I start my computer, it could not dual boot. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8

    Unable to dual boot


    Hi all,

    I was previously using Windows XP and I added in a 2nd drive solely for Fedora 6 However, when I start my computer, it could not dual boot. It will boot into linux straightaway. Here are my status:

    Disk /dev/hda: 80GB,
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = Cylinders of 16065 * 512= 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 5099 40957686 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 5100 9728 37182442+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)

    /dev/hda5 5100 9728 37182411+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/hdb: 41.1GB,
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 5005 cylinders
    Units = Cylinders of 16065 * 512= 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 1716 13783738+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 1913 5004 28436490 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda3 1717 1912 1574370 82 Linux Swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda5 1913 5004 28436458+ 7 HPFS/NTFS


    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd0,2)
    # kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd1,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.18-1.2869.fc6)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.18-1.2869.fc6.img
    title Other
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    Please advice.

    Million Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the contents of /boot/grub/device.map file





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    post the contents of /boot/grub/device.map file





    Casper
    Hi Casper,
    Thanks for your prompt reply. I change the title Other to title WIndows XP and it works, for only 1 time when I click on it. 2nd time when I boot up, it only display a white screen with distorted white horizontal line. anyway, my device.map is as shown:

    (hd0) /dev/hda
    (hd1) /dev/hdb

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    device.map file is correct. did you change anything else in grub.conf file?







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    device.map file is correct. did you change anything else in grub.conf file?







    Casper
    Nope.. Is it my display problem? Because during start up it shows a white screen with faded Windows XP desktop.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Because during start up it shows a white screen with faded Windows XP desktop.
    is Windows Booting up? if it shows faded Windows Desktop then its display problem only. check you windows settings.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    is Windows Booting up? if it shows faded Windows Desktop then its display problem only. check you windows settings.





    Casper
    I am able to go into the Dual Boot Screen only If I press spacebar or other keys. May I know what are the commands to make Windows XP the default boot up OS?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    okkk !! log in as root and open /boot/grub/grub.conf file. look for 'hiddenmenu' line and put '#' sign before it.
    for setting Windows as Default OS, count 'title' lines, (start counting from zero) and change the value of 'default 0' to the Windows title line number. save file and reboot.




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    okkk !! log in as root and open /boot/grub/grub.conf file. look for 'hiddenmenu' line and put '#' sign before it.
    for setting Windows as Default OS, count 'title' lines, (start counting from zero) and change the value of 'default 0' to the Windows title line number. save file and reboot.




    Casper
    Sorry but I dont quite get the meaning of counting the title lines.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    according to grub.conf file that you posted in first post, set value of 'default' to 1. there are only two title lines in that file.
    Code:
    default 1



    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •